Rebel Dane Among 2014 Doomben 10,000 Nominations

Gary Portelli’s crack four-year-old Rebel Dane is among the 46 nominations taken for the 2014 Doomben 10,000 by the Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) today.

Rebel Dane

Smart Sydney galloper Rebel Dane is one of the top 2014 Doomben 10,000 nominations this year. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The California Dane four-year-old made headlines this month after Portelli and connections accepted the BRC’s invitation for Rebel Dane to compete in the Australasian Challenge this Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

That campaign starts with the $650,000 Group 1 James Boag’s Premium Doomben 10,000 (1350m) on May 24 before their shot at Queensland’s richest race, the $1.36 million Group 1 AAMI Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm Racecourse on June 7.

Rebel Dane then is among the nominations for both races, firstly the Doomben 10,000 where they are set to take on a crack field under weight-for-age conditions.

Winner of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield last September, this time in Rebel Dane kicked things off with a second to Lankan Rupee in the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick on April 12.

They raced again last Saturday but only put in a moderate performance when fifth behind Japanese raider Hana’s Goal as the beaten favourite in the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m), an effort Portelli is hoping they improve on in Brisbane.

It’s a form line that held true last year with the Peter Snowden-trained Epaulette.

They were runner-up in the TJ Smith Stakes before an All Aged sixth ahead of their Doomben 10,000 win, and Portelli hopes Rebel Dane can emulate that.

“Epaulette ran second behind Black Caviar in the T.J. Smith last year, was beaten in the All Aged, then won the Doomben 10,000; we’re hoping we can do the same,” Portelli told The Daily Telegraph.

Another headline Doomben 10,000 nominee for this year is then Rob Heathcote’s three time Group 1 winning local Buffering who is after their maiden elite level win at home.

Among the entries for all the features, the Mossman six-year-old was last seen running third in the TJ Smith Stakes second-up.

Buffering runs in Saturday’s week’s BTC Cup ahead of the Doomben 10,000 and then the Stradbroke which they contest for the fourth consecutive year.

This is the first time they run in any of their home features as a Group 1 champion however, something Heathcote is hoping will make the difference and see them improve on their third to Epaulette in the 10,000 last year and their second to favourite Sea Siren in 2011.

Another top performer from last winter’s Doomben 10,000 that is back for a shot in 2014 as a reborn Group 1 winner is the Tony Gollan-trained Spirit Of Boom.

The Toowoomba-based Sequalo six-year-old broke their Group 1 duck in Melbourne this March with a narrow victory over Fontelina in the Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1200m).

They then scratched out of the TJ Smith Stakes before running again last Saturday at Eagle Farm when second to stable mate Temple Of Boom in the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m).

Temple Of Boom is also Doomben 10,000 bound and will run in the BTC Cup in the lead-up like their half-brother Spirit Of Boom and headliner Buffering.

Another recent quinella nominated for the Doomben 10,000 meanwhile were the first two over the line in last weekend’s Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) in Adelaide, the Gai Waterhouse-trained Driefontein and Platelet for Darren Weir.

Other notable hopes then include Gerald Ryan’s Hall Mark Stakes winner from last weekend Hot Snitzel, runner-up in that same race Knoydart who ran third behind Lankan Rupee in the Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Handicap and the Joe Pride-trained sprint star Tiger Tees.

Dubawi six-year-old Tiger Tees has been in top form over the past month winning the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill before a TJ Smith Stakes fourth in the mud and then a last start All Aged Stakes third.

There are plenty of other Group 1 winners in the mix too including Black Caviar Lighting champ Snitzerland also prepared by Ryan and Buffering’s Toorak Handicap winning stable mate Solzhenitsyn.

Late Doomben 10,000 nominations close on May 2 before first acceptances on May 14.

Make sure you get ready for the Brisbane Group 1s by signing up with today where your first deposit will be matched dollar for dollar as a bonus bet valued up to $250!

2014 Doomben 10,000 Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 24/05/2014

# Horse Trainer
1 AKAVOROUN Ciaron Maher
2 ARINOSA Chris Waller
4 BELLTONE Kelso Wood
5 BUAKAW Matthew Dunn
6 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
8 DOTHRAKI Gerald Ryan
9 DRIEFONTEIN Gai Waterhouse
10 ESSAY RAIDER Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas
11 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith
12 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David Hayes
13 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote
14 GREGERS David Hayes
15 HAVANA Paul Messara
16 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan
17 KNOYDART John O’Shea
18 LONDEHERO Matthew Dunn
19 LUCKY HUSSLER Kent Fleming
21 OFFICE BEARER Peter G Moody
22 PAGO ROCK David Hayes
23 PERON John P Thompson
24 PLATELET Darren Weir
25 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody
26 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli
27 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall
29 SALUTER Robert Heathcote
30 SCAPOLO (NZ) Kevin Myers
31 SIDESTEP John O’Shea
32 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan
33 SOLZHENITSYN (NZ) Robert Heathcote
34 SOMEDAY Kelso Wood
35 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan
36 SPLENDORA Matthew Dunn
37 SPY DECODER (NZ) Anthony Cummings
38 STARTSMEUP Bruce W Hill
39 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan
40 THAT’S THE ONE Barry Baldwin
41 THE QUARTERBACK Robbie Griffiths
42 THE WHITE HOPE Matthew Dunn
43 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride
44 TOUGHER THAN EVER (NZ) Chris Waller
45 TROMBONE ALLEY Alicia Willick


Have your say, post a comment.