Buffering Heads 2014 BTC Cup Nominations

April 30, 2014

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Buffering Heads 2014 BTC Cup Nominations

Rob Heathcote’s triple Group 1 champion Buffering heads a small list of BTC Cup 2014 nominations taken for Saturday week’s opening Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival major.


Triple Group 1 winner Buffering will be after their fourth elite level in Saturday week's BTC Cup 2014. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Seven Group 1 race nominations were released by Racing Queensland today including those for the $400,000 Group 1 Bunderberg Distilling Company Co. BTC Cup (1200m) set to light up Doomben Racecourse on May 10.

Just 15 sprinters make up the early BTC Cup entries this year, the headline runner being Mossman six-year-old Buffering.

Also among the 100 Stradbroke Handicap 2014 nominations taken today, the ultra-consistent Buffering finally broke their Group 1 maiden with a Melbourne spring double last prep.

On the back of their Manikato Stakes and VRC Sprint wins he then travelled west and won Perth’s Winterbottom Stakes before a spell.

This time in he improved on a disappointing first-up seventh to Villa Verde in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m) at Randwick when third at the track in the mud last time out in the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) won by Lankan Rupee.

Now Buffering is gearing up for another big winter at home starting with the BTC Cup.

A whole host of Group 1 stars are nominated for the weight-for-age classic this year including the Tony Gollan-trained ‘Boom Brothers’.

Half-brothers Temple Of Boom and Spirit Of Boom ran first and second respectively in the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) at Eagle Farm last Saturday in the perfect BTC Cup lead-up.

Seven-year-old Piccolo gelding Temple Of Boom will be after their second Group 1 win having taken out the 2012 The Galaxy in Sydney, while six-year-old Spirit Of Boom is also an elite level winner having taken out this year’s William Reid Stakes in Melbourne.

Also coming via the Victory Stakes are the likes of Group 1 Lighting Stakes winning mare Snitzerland (3rd), the Noel Mayfield-Smith-trained Famous Seamus (5th) and Sunshine Coast galloper River Lad (7th).

Along with Temple Of Boom other last start winners nominated for the BTC Cup this year are Gerald Ryan’s Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes champ from last weekend Hot Snitzel and the John O’Shea-trained Exceed And Excel colt Sidestep coming off a Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes win.

O’Shea’s other nominee Hall Mark runner-up Knoydart is another notable BTC Cup hope.

The More Than Ready four-year-old won back-to-back summer stakes races earlier in the year before catching the eye when third to Lankan Rupee for their Group 1 Oakleigh Plate – Newmarket Handicap double.

Check out the full BTC Cup 2014 nominations below, the final field due for release early next week.

Our number one recommended bookie Ladbrokes.com.au will be offering the best markets on all the Brisbane features over the coming weeks so ensure you don’t miss out by signing up with them today and enjoy a bonus bet up to $250 to kick things off!

2014 BTC Cup Nominations

Doomben Racecourse – 10/05/2014

# Horse Trainer
1 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
2 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith
3 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan
4 KNOYDART John O’Shea
5 LONDEHERO Matthew Dunn
6 PERON John P Thompson
7 PLUCKY BELLE Peter G Moody
8 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall
9 SIDESTEP John O’Shea
10 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan
11 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan
12 STARTSMEUP Bruce W Hill
13 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan
14 THE WHITE HOPE Matthew Dunn
15 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field