2014 South Australian Derby Field & Barriers Released

April 29, 2014

2014 South Australian Derby Field & Barriers Released

This Saturday in Adelaide Morphettville Racecoursewill host the latest autumn Group 1 with a talented field of three-year-olds set to face off in the South Australian Derby 2014.

Order Of The Sun

Favourite Order Of The Sun has come up trumps with gate four in the 2014 South Australian Derby field. Photo: Steve Hart.

Scheduled to run as Race 7 at 3:35pm (local) this year’s $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) has drawn a capacity line-up of final acceptors with 16 starters and three emergencies.

Heading the South Australian Derby field is the Leon MacDonald & Andrew Gluyas-trained Gamblin’ Guru who has their work cut out for them after drawing the extreme outside barrier.

The New Approach gelding made it back-to-back stakes wins at the track last Saturday backing up from their Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) win with another narrow victory.

This time they had a nose to spare over Excites Zelady in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2000m), a race that has produced two of the past 10 South Australian Derby winners.

A top fancy then to step up to the 2500m, Gamblin’ Guru with winning form up to 2200m at Geelong during the spring, the Chairman’s winner has suffered a blow with the ‘visitor’s gate’.

While on paper gate 19, which becomes 16 on race day, looks bad history shows that it is actually the equal most successful South Australian Derby barrier producing five winners since 1983 along with barrier five.

Also coming via a run in the Chairman’s last weekend are the likes of the Chris Bieg-trained runner-up Exictes Zelady also with a wide barrier (17), Danny O’Brien’s third placed Victorian raider Gravitational who has a jockey change from Craig Williams to James Winks and fourth placed Kushadasi for local trainer Richard Jolly.

Early favourite in the South Australian Derby betting markets meanwhile is the Gai Waterhouse-trained Order Of The Sun who has come up trumps with gate four.

Vlad Duric has the ride on the Encosta De Lago colt who comes off a blistering win in the Listed VRC St Leger (2800m) at Flemington last weekend when ridden by dual Group 1 hoop Chad Schofield.

They, like Gamblin’ Guru, must handle the short turnaround but are in a top position to strike while the iron is hot and go back-to-back.

The other major player who ran in the VRC St Leger in Melbourne last weekend is David Hayes’ runner-up Honey Steel’s Gold, the Keep The Faith gelding out to turn the tables on Order Of The Sun after going down by a huge seven lengths.

Along with Honey Steel’s Gold Hayes has also paid up for recent Cranbourne winner Surging Wave who failed when 10th in the Group 1 ATC Derby (2400m) last time out.

The other notable last start winners in the field are then the Ken Keys-trained Bring Something (barrier 14) who beat them home in the Listed Galilee Final (2400m) at Caulfield on April 12 and Jolly’s Barley A Moment gelding Majestic Moment (barrier five) who are both after their third on the trot.

As well as Hayes and Jolly other trainers with multiple acceptors include Anthony Cummings (Surge Ahead and Best Case) and Peter Moody (Crime Fighter and third emergency Stellarized).

See below for the full South Australian Derby 2014 field, barriers, jockeys and set weights.

Our number one recommended online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au is set to open their updated South Australian Derby odds shortly.

Ladbrokes.com.au will also be offering Best Tote or SP + 20% on your winnings up to $100 for the SA Derby so make sure you have an online account open with them today to get in on the action.

2014 South Australian Derby Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 – 3:35pm – 03/05/2014

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 221x52F211 GAMBLIN’ GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 19 56.5kg 90
2 24144×1538 BEST CASE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Damien Oliver 7 56.5kg 87
3 211×291124 KUSHADASI Richard Jolly Steven Arnold 3 56.5kg 85
4 1136×17081 ORDER OF THE SUN Gai Waterhouse Vlad Duric 4 56.5kg 83
5 79512×5262 EXCITES ZELADY Chris Bieg Amy Herrmann 17 56.5kg 82
6 1151×76370 SURGE AHEAD Anthony Cummings Chris Symons 10 56.5kg 78
7 048×817632 HONEY STEEL’S GOLD David Hayes Matthew Neilson 12 56.5kg 73
8 2457×65811 BRING SOMETHING Ken Keys Mark Zahra 14 56.5kg 72
9 x0170x6110 CRIME FIGHTER Peter G Moody 9 56.5kg 72
10 63421×3411 MAJESTIC MOMENT Richard Jolly Joe Bowditch 5 56.5kg 68
11 x5x2317314 MORE REWARDING Mick Price Dean Yendall 2 56.5kg 67
12 14579×9610 SURGING WAVE David Hayes Michael Walker 15 56.5kg 66
13 419747×623 GRAVITATIONAL Danny O’Brien James Winks 8 56.5kg 65
14 0x3161230 FAMILY PRIDE (NZ) Murray Johnson Cory Parish 18 56.5kg 65
15 455×52235 REDNAV Greg Eurell 13 56.5kg 62
16 14×1453 SCRATCHY BOTTOM Michael Kent Dom Tourneur 1 54.5kg 74
17e 9×56123506 LORD ATHENAEUM (NZ) Stuart Webb 6 56.5kg 61
18e 9402×3201 WORD OF MOUTH Leon Corstens Jamie Mott 11 56.5kg 61
19e 01×054 STELLARIZED Peter G Moody 16 56.5kg 61

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field