Chairman’s Stakes 2014 Field & Barriers

April 23, 2014

Chairman’s Stakes 2014 Field & Barriers

This Saturday in Adelaide five Group races headline the action at Morphettville Racecourse including the 2014 Chairman’s Stakes for three-year-olds.

Gamblin' Guru

Gamblin' Guru is a top chance in Saturday's 2014 Chairman's Stakes in Adelaide. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The $115,000 Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2000m) has this year attracted a field of 15 hopefuls set to face off in Morphettville Race 4 at 1:53pm (local).

Heading the field with the number one saddlecloth is the Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas-trained Gamblin’ Guru who has drawn ideally in gate five with Jason Holder aboard.

Holder has ridden the New Approach gelding for their past two on the trot for a second over the mile on March 29 and their last start Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) win from April 12.

Prior to those runs the up-and-comer fell in the Listed CS Hayes Stakes (1600m) at the start of March, when ridden by Clair Lindop, something they bounced back from without issue leading up to their Group 3 run on the weekend.

The Port Adelaide Guineas is the traditional Chairman’s Stakes lead-up and has provided many of the top fancies in Saturday’s field including runner-up Kushadasi and third placed Rednav.

The Richard Jolly-trained Kushadasi didn’t have the same luck in the Chairman’s barrier draw, the consistent Choisir gelding out in gate 12 as they look to turn the tables on Gamblin’ Guru.

Before the Port Adelaide Kushadasi won back-to-back races over the Morphettville mile and how they handle the 2000m of the Chairman’s will be key.

Rednav meanwhile will be ridden from the carpark draw 15 by Daniel Stackhouse, Greg Eurell’s Henrythenavigator gelding now with an Adelaide run under their belt.

Other gallopers with double digit draws include the John MacMillan-trained Reset gelding Creance (13) out to improve on a Port Adelaide seventh and the David Hayes-trained Kincaple Chief (14).

New Zealand-bred Pentire three-year-old Kincaple Chief comes off a last tart win over the mile at Sandown Hillside from April 9 and has good Black Type form in Melbourne including their fourth to Surge Ahead in the Listed Connosseur Stakes (1800m) from the Cup Carnival last year.

Other intestate raiders with nice recent form ahead of the Chairman’s Stakes include the Danny O’Brien-trained Gravitational, fourth in last year’s Geelong Classic in the wet, to be ridden from barrier two by Craig Williams and the Peter Moody-trained Southern Meteor in eight with Luke Nolen to ride.

Northern Meteor gelding Southern Meteor last raced in South Australia at the start of March when third in a Benchmark 72 over the 1800m and they return to the track after two Melbourne runs, most recently third over 2025m at Cranbourne on April 4.

Check out the full Chairman’s Stakes 2014 field, barriers, jockeys and set weights below.

All the Adelaide racing markets, including those for the two Group 1s, are set for release at shortly making now the time to sign-up with this top online bookie enjoying a bonus bet valued up to $250 on the house when you do!

2014 Chairman’s Handicap Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 4 – 1:53pm (local) – 26/04/2014

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 3221x52F21 GAMBLIN’ GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 5 57.5kg 85
2 211×29112 KUSHADASI Richard Jolly Steven Arnold 12 57.5kg 85
3 x79512x526 EXCITES ZELADY Chris Bieg Amy Herrmann 4 57.5kg 79
4 421×283127 CREANCE John MacMillan Shayne Cahill 13 57.5kg 68
5 x33254x351 KINCAPLE CHIEF (NZ) David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 14 57.5kg 64
6 x419747x62 GRAVITATIONAL Danny O’Brien Craig Williams 2 57.5kg 62
7 524312×78 WHISTLE STOP Terry Kelly Jamie Mott 9 57.5kg 62
8 455×5223 REDNAV Greg Eurell Daniel Stackhouse 15 57.5kg 62
9 09×5612350 LORD ATHENAEUM (NZ) Stuart Webb Mark Zahra 6 57.5kg 61
10 513×3303 SOUTHERN METEOR Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 8 57.5kg 61
11 810 EXALTED TOBY Karen Byrnes Dom Tourneur 7 57.5kg 61
12 89×810 ALWAYS LUCKY (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Brad Rawiller 1 57.5kg 59
13 90421×3968 NEW CONCEPT Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Scott Westover (a) 10 57.5kg 56
14 63343×040 ROBOCOP Shane Oxlade Jeffrey Maund 11 57.5kg 55
15 72×4916 MISS CAROBOSE Leigh Childs Dean Yendall 3 55.5kg 61

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field