2014 Orr Stakes Results – Moment Of Change Scores Narrow Win

February 8, 2014

2014 Orr Stakes Results – Moment Of Change Scores Narrow Win

Moment Of Change held-off a fast finishing Eurozone to win the 2014 Orr Stakes at Caulfield this weekend and return to the winners stall for the first time in almost 18 months.

Moment Of Chance gave Peter Moody and Luke Nolen their fourth win in the past five editions of the Orr Stakes.

Moment Of Chance gave Peter Moody and Luke Nolen their fourth win in the past five editions of the Orr Stakes. Photo by: Race Horse Photos Australia

Luke Nolen jumped straight to the lead with Moment Of Change and he set a solid tempo in the early stages of the race; stringing out the six horse field.

Moment Of Change was challenged by Shamus Award coming around the final turn and kicked clear at the 200 metre mark, after Shamus Award laid in, but was forced to dig deep to hold-off Eurozone who worked home strongly in his weight-for-age debut.

Trainer Peter Moody has defended Moment Of Change in the last twelve months, with many racing experts calling the Barely A Moment gelding a non-winner, and was thrilled to see the five-year-old return to the winners stall in the Orr Stakes.

“He has been a fraction behind all prep, but we were confident enough today,” Moody said after the race.

“He is a good benchmark for these good three-year-olds.

“I think you are going to see them go on and do a hell of a job.

“He has fallen into his slot in a race like this and the Futurity and they will go onto great heights in the autumn, while our bloke is cooling his heels.

“That is the idea with this type of horse; placing them where they can win and being realistic on what they are capable of.

“I think there is enough improvement in him to come back for the Futurity in a couple of weeks.

“It has been a frustrating 12 months, when you get beaten ten times in Group 1s, but the horse has always returned in good check and always done us proud.”

Nolen did not perform at his best during the 2013 Spring Racing Carnival and spent a fair bit of time out of the saddle at the start of the year, but timed his ride perfectly on the talented sprinter and gave him every opportunity to record his second win at Group 1 level.

The victory was Nolen’s first at the highest level of racing since the retirement of equine superstar Black Caviar and he was thrilled to do it on another horse that he has had a great association with over the last two years.

“I wasn’t afraid to be outside the leader, but he stepped very good for him and he is the sort of horse that you can probably get along with a little bit,” Nolen said.

“I think that we found that happy medium with him today and there is improvement in him.

“I would expect him to run similarly in the Futurity and he will be harder to beat with that one under his belt.”

The Moody/Nolen team has dominated the Orr Stakes in the past five years; previously winning the race with champion mares Typhoon Tracy (2010) and Black Caviar (2012).

The Orr Stakes is over for another year, but there is still plenty of great racing left during the 2014 Melbourne Festival Of Racing and you can find the best odds at Ladbrokes.com.au!

The leading online bookmaker already has betting markets available for all the major races this autumn and is offering all new punters a free bet worth up to $250.

Start winning at Ladbrokes.com.au today!

2014 Orr Stakes Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Bar. Weight Penalty Starting Price
1 3 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 5 59kg $2.35F
2 8 EUROZONE Bart & James Cummings Damien Oliver 0.1L 4 55.5kg $6
3 7 SHAMUS AWARD Danny O’Brien Craig Williams 1.6L 6 55.5kg $3.50
4 2 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller Craig Newitt 3.85L 2 59kg $16
5 6 FINISHING CARD Clinton McDonald Glen Boss 7.85L 3 59kg $31
6 4 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller Michael Walker 8.85L 1 59kg $9

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Tattersall’s Club T...

2018 Tattersall’s Club T...

2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara: Emergencies not needed, Prompt Response new favourite

The five emergencies were not needed which leaves the original field of...

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara betting

The Kris Lees trained Invincible Gem has been well supported in the betting...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?