2014 Hobart Cup Final Field Released

February 4, 2014

2014 Hobart Cup Final Field Released

The 2014 Hobart Cup final field has been released; with a number of Victorian-trained gallopers set to make the trip across to the Apple Isle for the Group 3 event.

Darren Weir is chasing his second straight win in the Hobart Cup with First Bloom after winning last year's race with Hurdy Gurdy Man.

Darren Weir is chasing his second straight win in the Hobart Cup with First Bloom after winning last year's race with Hurdy Gurdy Man. Photo by: Race Horse Photos Australia

Michael Kent-trained Epingle has performed strongly since starting her spring campaign in October and will have the opportunity to breakthrough for the maiden win of her preparation in the Hobart Cup this weekend.

Epingle was galloped on when 15th in the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1410m), but has not produced a bad run since; finishing fourth in the Group 3 Eliza Park International Stakes (1600m), fourth in the Group 2 Momentum Energy Stakes (2000m) and second in the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m).

The Pins mare will carry 54kg in the Hobart Cup and will jump from barrier three with leading Melbourne jockey Craig Williams.

Trainer Darren Weir has included First Bloom in the 2014 Hobart Cup final field and is chasing his second straight victory in the Hobart Cup after winning the 2013 edition of the race with Hurdy Gurdy Man.

First Bloom (barrier 11) started her campaign with a win in the Tracy Placment People Handicap (1400m) at Ballarat on November 24 and progressed through the grades nicely to take out the Aquanas Fillies And Mares Handicap (2040m) at Moonee Valley on January 24.

Mick Burles-trained The Cleaner finished second behind Hurdy Gurdy Man in the 2013 Hobart Cup and will be chasing his first win since June this weekend.

The Cleaner finished second in the R W Trinder Quality (1600m) in Launceston on December 31, the Piping Lane Handicap (2000m) at Flemington on January 18 and the J.C. Cup (2200m) at Hobart on February 2, but receives weight relief in the Hobart Cup and will have just 56.5kg on his back.

Geegees Blackflash won the Hobart Cup in 2012, but will need to produce one of the best performances of his career to record his second win in the event after being allocated 60kg and drawing barrier 12.

The Clangalang gelding has recorded three wins at Group 3 level, taking out the 2010 Tasmanian Derby (2200m), 2012 Hobart Cup (2200m) and 2013 Launceston Cup (2400m), and is taking winning form into the Hobart Cup following his victories in the R W Trinder Quality and the Summer Cup (2100m).

David Hayes-trained Unchain My Heart, Kiwi gelding Surpass, veteran stayer Macedonian and last start winner Gee Gee’s La Quita have also been included in the 2014 Hobart Cup final field.

There is a wide range of Group races taking place right around Australia this weekend and you can find the best odds at Ladbrokes.com.au.

Sign-up and deposit to receive a free bet worth up to $250 that can be used to back the winner of the Hobart Cup or any other race!

2014 Hobart Cup Final Field And Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 112×243211 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell Stephen Maskiell 12 60kg 107
2 0530×36222 THE CLEANER Mick Burles Anthony Darmanin 5 56.5kg 100
3 1414×08434 UNCHAIN MY HEART David Hayes Michael Walker 4 54kg 97
4 242×044263 EPINGLE (NZ) Michael Kent Craig Williams 3 54kg 96
5 31112×8867 SURPASS (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Newitt 9 54kg 90
6 3595113×89 MACEDONIAN (NZ) Peter G Moody 10 54kg 89
7 45×6531521 GEE GEE’S LA QUITA Stuart Gandy David Pires 8 54kg 86
8 44×3415303 RELENTLESS PURSUIT Julie Richards Glen Boss 2 54kg 83
9 x824114252 MAGNAPAL Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Ms Nikita Beriman 1 54kg 80
10 2676×14021 FIRST BLOOM Darren Weir Ms Michelle Payne 11 54kg 78
11 6157469167 CAN GET THIRSTY (NZ) John Luttrell Ms Sigrid Carr (a) 7 54kg 75
12 624×126512 ALLEGRO DEHERE Dean Wells Robert Thompson 6 54kg 73

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field