Mahisara Heads Lough Neagh Stakes 2013 Field

December 18, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Mahisara Heads Lough Neagh Stakes 2013 Field

The latest race of the popular Brisbane Summer Sprint Series takes centre stage at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday with Paul Messara’s Sandown Stakes winner Mahisara heading the 2013 Lough Neagh Stakes field.


Mahisara has the top weight and outside gate to overcome in Saturday's Lough Neagh Stakes 2013. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The Scone-based More Than Ready stallion travels to the Sunshine State on the weekend for a shot at the $175,000 Listed Sky Racing Lough Neagh Stakes (1350m) where they’ll face 13 rivals.

Suffering an early blow the five-year-old has drawn the visitor’s gate 14, Glen Colless set to ride the 59kg top weight.

Mahisara carried only 56kg to victory in the Group 3 Sandown Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield last start on November 16 so will have to be at their best with the heavier allocation this weekend.

The other notable last start winner in the mix meanwhile is the Kent Fleming-trained Lucky Hussler (56kg) draw ideally in gate four with Michael Cahill to ride.

The Husson four-year-old is second-up this prep after resuming at the track to win the Group 3 George Moore Stakes (1200m) earlier this month.

Following Mahisara in the Lough Neagh Stakes weights meanwhile are the horses that ran second and third respectively in the George Moore, the Kelly Doughty-trained Morning Captain (58kg) and Bruce Hill’s Startsmeup (57.5kg).

Danbird five-year-old Morning Captain, runner-up in last year’s Lough Neagh, has been in top form this campaign also enjoying an Eagle Farm win last month over 1300m and running a brave third to Better Than Ready in the Listed Keith Noud Handicap (1200m).

Startsmeup meanwhile is looking for their first win for their current Gold Coast-based trainer, Hill having prepared them for just the one previous run so far.

The now six-year-old Danzero gelding hasn’t won a race in the past year, their last victory having been in the 2012 George Moore Stakes when prepared by Gillian Heinrich.

They also ran fourth in last year’s Lough Neagh Stakes behind Audacious Spirit.

The final last start winner in Saturday’s showdown is then Steve Tregea’s Love Rocks (barrier six) after their third on the trot following big wins at Eagle Farm (3.5 lengths) and Doomben (2.5 lengths) over the 1200m.

Other notable hopes then include the Kelso Wood-trained Benny’s Buttons (barrier two) out to improve on their last start eighth to Lucky Hussler, Phelan Ready and the resuming distance specialist Mishani Warrior who before the break won four of their five most recent starts

Check out the full Lough Neagh Stakes 2013 field, barriers, jockeys and weights below.

Then to get behind your favourites this weekend at the top odds, visit our preferred online betting agency

Right now at if you make a deposit as a new customer you’ll get it matched dollar for dollar up to $250 making now the ideal time to discover the benefits of betting online.

2013 Lough Neagh Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Doomben Race 8 – 4:20pm (AEST) – 21/12/2013

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 1x59420x51 MAHISARA Paul Messara Glen Colless 14 59kg 103
2 4666×22132 MORNING CAPTAIN Kelly Doughty Jim Byrne 9 58kg 101
3 x570x39893 STARTSMEUP Bruce W Hill Brad Stewart 12 57.5kg 100
4 1063122×28 BENNY’S BUTTONS Kelso Wood Ric McMahon 2 56kg 97
5 0x5833D5x1 LUCKY HUSSLER Kent Fleming Michael Cahill 4 56kg 97
6 14x52403x0 GUNDY SON Tony Gollan Ryan Wiggins 13 55.5kg 96
7 x48809x354 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff Jason Taylor 10 55.5kg 96
8 7x6970x796 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan Eddie Wilkinson 11 55kg 95
9 210x000x80 BIGGLES Noel J Doyle 1 54kg 93
10 810301×530 DOUBTFILLY Stuart Kendrick Timothy Bell 5 54kg 93
11 271311131x MISHANI WARRIOR Les Ross 8 54kg 93
12 x724131102 QFIGHTER Matthew Dunn Ms Tegan Harrison (a) 3 54kg 88
13 1×35452211 LOVE ROCKS Steve Tregea Anthony Allen (a) 6 54kg 84
14 486x080x57 RENEWED VITALITY John P Thompson 7 54kg 83

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field