Bumper 2013 Ballarat Cup Nominations Taken

November 19, 2013

Bumper 2013 Ballarat Cup Nominations Taken

A big list of gallopers are fighting for a spot in Sunday’s Ballarat Cup 2013 in Victoria this weekend after nominations for the black type clash were taken today.

King Diamond

The out of form King Diamond is nominated to defend their Ballarat Cup this Sunday. Photo: Taron Clarke.

There are 30 horses making up the early entries for this year’s $200,000 Listed Ballarat Cup (2200m) including the defending champion King Diamond.

Jarred McLean’s Danewin gelding, formerly with Peter Moody, narrowly won last year’s Ballarat Cup in just their second win for their new trainer going on to run second in the Werribee Cup next start.

The now seven-year-old hasn’t won a race since however and has been well beaten in their most recent runs including a ninth in the Kyneton Cup (2000m) last start on November 6.

Bill & Symon Wilde’s fellow seven-year-old, Kyneton Cup winner Constant Force is also among the Ballarat Cup nominees.

The horses that finished second and third in that same race, Horsham Cup winner Cornell for Anthony Freeman and the David Hayes-trained Whisper Downs are two other exciting Ballarat Cup chances this year.

Hayes has also nominated for his Al Maher mare Unchain My Heart, winner of the Listed Andrew Ramsden Stakes (3200m) at Flemington back in May.

Along with Constant Force there are a number of other last start winners nominated for the big one in Ballarat on the weekend including Mick Kent’s Mossman gelding Backbone who won over 2000m at Caulfield on Guineas Day, the Michael Moroney-trained Ararat Gold Cup champ Flashy Fella and Warrnambool galloper King Of Dudes who won at the track in the Ballarat Spring Cup on November 13.

Also coming via the traditional Ballarat Cup lead-up are Spring Cup third placegetter Hannaford for Robbie Laing and Darren Weir’s fourth placed Bia Diamond.

Weir’s other entry is Hurdy Gurdy Man who won the Hamilton Cup two back and will on Sunday be after their third country cup win of the season having also taken out the Murtoa Cup this prep.

“If both horses run up to their best they are certainly not just making up numbers, but you have to see what’s in it,” Weir, who won the 2004 Ballarat Cup with Just The Part, told The Courier this week.

Some of the other more notable hopes meanwhile include Tony McEvoy’s Murray Bridge Gold Cup winner Pelicano, the now Brisbane-based Group 3 winner Rothera and Ararat Gold Cup third placegetter Isopach who also ran second in the Horsham Cup.

See below for the full list of Ballarat Cup 2013 nominations with the final field due out on Thursday.

Whether it’s the Sunday races in Melbourne or Saturday’s two Perth Group 1’s you’re after the odds on, make sure you get the guaranteed best prices by betting online at Ladbrokes.com.au where new depositing customers are rewarded with a bonus $500 bet!

2013 Ballarat Cup Nominations

Ballarat Racecourse – 24/11/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ANGOLA Pat Carey 76
2 BACKBONE Michael Kent 87
3 BIA DIAMOND Darren Weir 80
4 CONSTANT FORCE Bill & Symon Wilde 93
5 CORNELL Anthony Freedman 90
6 DURNFORD Pat Carey 89
7 EPINGLE (NZ) Michael Kent 94
8 FLASHY FELLA (NZ) Michael Moroney 86
9 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney 90
10 HANNAFORD Robbie Laing 73
11 HARTANI (IRE) Robert Hickmott 85
12 HEEZ NOTORIOUS Nigel Blackiston 72
13 HORNETS’ NEST (GB) James J Mcnamara 84
14 HURDY GURDY MAN Darren Weir 101
15 ISOPACH Barry & Glen James 85
16 KIM COMMAND Rick Hore-Lacy 72
17 KING DIAMOND Jarrod Mclean 92
18 KING OF DUDES (GB) Aaron Purcell 71
19 PELICANO Tony McEvoy 101
20 QUICK SHAKES Simon Morrish 85
21 ROTHERA Brian Smith 98
23 ST GABRIEL David & Ryan Balfour 84
24 STAR OF JEUNE Patrick Payne 73
25 SUPREMACY (NZ) Russell Cameron 82
26 THE OFFER (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 83
27 UNCHAIN MY HEART David Hayes 95
28 USE THE LOT Sharna Valli 75
29 WHISPER DOWNS David Hayes 99
30 YOU THINK SO (NZ) Michael Kent 93

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field