Dummies Guide to 2013 Melbourne Cup Tips

November 5, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Dummies Guide to 2013 Melbourne Cup Tips

Are you a dummy when it comes to picking the Melbourne Cup winner each November? Never fear, the expert team of tipsters at Races.com.au are here to help narrowing down the 24 horses in the field to find you the winning 2013 Melbourne Cup Tips.


The 2013 Melbourne Cup Tips for Dummies Guide says Hawkspur cannot win from barrier 18. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Known the world over as the ‘race that stops a nation’, this year’s edition of the $6 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) is set to do just that and bring Australia to a stand still for just over three minutes at 3:00pm (AEST).

Running as Flemington Race 7, the Melbourne Cup field features 24 stayers from around the world meaning there’s lots to consider when picking the winner.

That’s fine if you’re a Melbourne Cup form guru or expert tipster, but what about those of us who just like to have a flutter once a year as is the Aussie tradition?

Don’t know your saddlecloths from your tablecloths?

Still can’t figure out why Black Caviar never ran in a Melbourne Cup?

Well you need our dummies guide to picking the Melbourne Cup winner.

Here’s what to do and what not to do when sorting the pretenders from the contenders in your Melbourne Cup tips this afternoon.

Melbourne Cup Tips – What NOT to Do

  • Don’t back #18 Hawkspur who has drawn barrier 18 – the only Melbourne Cup barrier in history not to produce a winner
  • Don’t back a horse that ran (and lost) in the race the year before – the last loser to return a year later and take it out was Brew (1999, 2000) and before that it was Tawriffic (1988, 1989); that rules out seven horses this year including the top two in betting #6 Fiorente (2nd last year) and #15 Mount Athos (5th last year)
  • Don’t back the defending champ – only five have successful defended their title with Makybe Diva (2003, 2004, 2005) the only of the 15 in the past 30 years to do it – this year #2 Green Moon is back and #1 Dunaden from 2011 is also looking for multiple victories
  • Don’t back a raider that hasn’t run in Australia – there have been five Northern Hemisphere-trained Melbourne Cup winners, only one of which – Vintage Crop (1993) – didn’t have a previous run down under; this year of the nine overseas raiders the only ones to have run top three in their final lead-up were #8 Dandino and #19 Simenon
  • Don’t back the favourite – favourites have a poor recent record in the Melbourne Cup with the last to salute being Makybe Diva (2005); this year the favourite is #6 Fiorente ($7)

Melbourne Cup Tips – What You SHOULD Do

  • Back a last-start winner – 11 of the past 19 Melbourne Cup winners won their final lead-up, the shortest priced of the seven last start winners in this year’s field is #4 Sea Moon ($14) and also includes their Caulfield Cup winning stablemate # 10 Fawkner ($16)
  • Back a Caulfield Cup runner – the Caulfield Cup has produced 21 Melbourne Cup winners since 1970 most recently Viewed (2008); this year the Caulfield Cup trifecta all back up here with #10 Fawkner (1st), #8 Dandino (2nd) and #22 Dear Demi (3rd)
  • Back a 4 or 5YO – four and five-year-old horses boast the equal best record with 43 Melbourne Cup winners for each age; this year there is a total of nine horses that are the right age statistically including five-year-old French mare #21 Verema ($16), and four-year-old gallopers #18 Hawkspur ($17) and #23 Tres Blue ($26)

Right, feel like a Melbourne Cup tips guru now? Put your newfound knowledge to the ultimate test by placing a bet on the Melbourne Cup 2013 online now at Ladbrokes.com.au

Ladbrokes.com.au is also running an exclusive new promo, Ladbrokes.com.au giving you a $50 bet on the Melbourne Cup when you deposit just $25!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field