2013 Manikato Stakes Field & Barriers – Samaready in 7

October 22, 2013

2013 Manikato Stakes Field & Barriers – Samaready in 7

Like Atlantic Jewel in Saturday’s Cox Plate, the favoured mare for the Manikato Stakes 2013 at Moonee Valley on Friday night Samaready has drawn barrier seven in her bid to beat the boys in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival sprint classic.


Samaready shoots for her third Group 1 win in Friday night's Manikato Stakes 2013. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Headlining proceedings on Friday evening the $1 million Group 1 Sportingbet Manikato Stakes (1200m) has drawn a top class field of 12 sprinters, including international talent from aboard.

But it is the in-form Samaready leading the Manikato Stakes markets, Mick Price’s Blue Diamond Stakes winner from last year flying this time in.

She had a year on the sidelines but came back as a more mature four-year-old winning her first-up run at Caulfield. She then backed up a month later at Moonee Valley and beat home Buffering by a blistering four lengths to become a dual Group 1 winner in the Moir Stakes (1200m) on September 27.

For the Moir Samaready was ridden by Craig Newitt from barrier 7 (of 10) and conditions should suit again with a month between runs for her here once more, Newitt staying on and the same barrier seven draw.

Price has also accepted for his Australian-bred Choisir six-year-old Le Bonsir who will jump one outside their favoured stablemate in barrier eight, the gelding third in the Moir two starts back.

Moir Stakes runner-up Buffering meanwhile is also back on Friday night, Rob Heathcote’s perennial Group 1 placegetter looking to finally break their elite level maiden status.

It will be the 18th Group 1 appearance for the Mossman six-year-old and their third shot at the Manikato.

In 2011 they were fourth to Sepoy before a sixth last year behind Sea Siren.

They have had their luck hampered again this year drawing barrier 10 of 12.

The other Queensland representative is then the Tony Gollan-trained Temple Of Boom, Craig Williams to ride from barrier 11.

Of course the other big name Manikato Stakes acceptor in 2013 is the Caspar Fownes-trained raider Lucky Nine.

In gate four with Brett Prebble to ride, the Hong Kong hero races for the first time since winning the Group 1 Krisflyer International Sprint (1200m) in Singapore back on May 19.

Reports from the horse’s trainer Fownes say they will only be around 85% fit for the Manikato, but is still expected to be competitive after a good hit-out at Werribee with Prebble aboard this week.

“Everything’s going smoothly,” Fownes told the Herald Sun.

“He is really well in himself; and Brett said he’s stronger and heavier this campaign.”

Along with Samaready and Lucky Nine there are three other last-start winners looking to go back-to-back in the Manikato this weekend, the most notable of which is Rebel Dane.

Gary Portelli’s California Dane four-year-old won their first Group 1 last start on September 29 at Caulfield with a brave effort in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) but must now handle a drop back to the 1200m.

The other two coming off a win are then the Anthony Cummings-trained Diamond Earth (barrier three) and Chris Waller’s always honest Arinosa (barrier 12) who won the Group 2 Premiere Stakes (1200m) at Randwick at the start of the month.

Rounding out the 12-horse Manikato Stakes field are then Krisflyer International Sprint runner-up Bel Sprinter on the rails, the Danny O’Brien-trained Shamexpress, Peter Moody’s always dangers Moment Of Change and recent The Shorts winner Sessions for Peter Snowden.

See below for the full Manikato Stakes 2013 field, barriers, jockeys and weights in the table below.

Then to check out the post-field betting markets head to Ladbrokes.com.au and open an account with the online bookie offering double the odds on the Cox Plate this weekend!

2013 Manikato Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Moonee Valley Race 8 – 10:00pm (AEST) – 25/10/2013

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 x51551471x LUCKY NINE (IRE) Caspar Fownes Brett Prebble 4 58.5kg 118
2 168x1432x2 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 10 58.5kg 112
3 0x7570x228 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan Craig Williams 11 58.5kg 106
4 1579x132x6 BEL SPRINTER Jason Warren Michael Rodd 1 58.5kg 110
5 53x161x97x SHAMEXPRESS (NZ) Danny O’Brien Stephen Baster 2 58.5kg 107
6 31x2205x24 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 6 58.5kg 108
7 1x1240x141 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Glen Boss 9 58.5kg 109
8 1321x1x214 SESSIONS Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 5 58.5kg 102
9 53163×1134 LE BONSIR Mick Price Michael Walker 8 58.5kg 100
10 11113x4x11 SAMAREADY Mick Price Craig Newitt 7 56.5kg 113
11 4025178×31 DIAMOND EARTH Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 3 56.5kg 84
12 121xD114x1 ARINOSA Chris Waller 12 56.5kg 108

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?