Shamal Wind Leads 2013 Sportingbet Sprint Series Final Field

Robert Smerdon’s last start winner at the track Shamal Wind will shoot for back-to-back Caulfield wins this weekend lining up in the Sportingbet Sprint Series Final 2013 for mares.

Shamal Wind

Shamal Wind is the only last start winner in the Sportingbet Sprint Series Final 2013 this weekend. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

After a number of heats the $135,000 Group 3 Sportingbet Sprint Series Final (1200m) will be decided at 2:35pm (AEST) on Saturday as the fifth race on a bumper 10 event program at Caulfield.

The mares-only event has attracted 13 hopefuls with the only last start winner being Smerdon’s Dubawi four-year-old Shamal Wind who won over the 1100m here first-up on September 21.

While Shamal Wind is the only mare coming off a turf triumph, there are a number of others that caught the eye last start including the Tony McEvoy-trained Assertive Eagle.

The Danewin five-year-old resumed at Gawler with a third over 1100m on September 29 behidn Daytona Grey and is tipped to improve on that second-up.

Other top-rated chances include the Peter Snowden-trained Aerobatics who won the Listed Darley Crown (1300m) at Hawkesbury back in May, Koonoomoo, Group 2 winner Meliora and the Nigel Blackiston-trained You’re So Good.

See below for the full Sportingbet Sprint Series Final 2013 field, barriers and jockeys.

Then when you’re ready to lock in the right price for all your weekend selections, visit and open a new account at the online bookie rewarding new depositing customers with a bonus bet valued up to $500!

2013 Sportingbet Sprint Series Final Field & Barrier Draw

Caulfield Race 5 – 2:35pm (AEST) – 12/10/2013

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 21x53730x7 KOONOOMOO Rod Grantley Steven Arnold 11 58kg 94
2 080x8651x7 AEROBATICS Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 12 58kg 95
3 516417×200 MELIORA Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 6 58kg 91
4 1x103209x1 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 4 58kg 96
5 122218×804 YOU’RE SO GOOD (NZ) Nigel Blackiston Michael Walker 2 57kg 91
6 525x3144x3 ASSERTIVE EAGLE Tony McEvoy Nash Rawiller 8 57kg 94
7 641140×000 JOLIE BLONDE Mark Riley Daniel Stackhouse 3 57kg 89
8 547417×942 FORMIDABLE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 5 56kg 78
9 0111x152x0 HAZARD Anthony Freedman Glen Boss 10 56kg 80
10 9703×70023 SENSATIONAL REPORT Dianne Wynne Ms Sally Wynne 9 55kg 75
11 7382093173 FLASH OF DOUBT Robbie Griffiths Brett Prebble 13 55kg 87
12 42x332x1x8 OUR MISS JONES (NZ) Michael Kent Dwayne Dunn 1 55kg 84
13 441293357x COUNTED (NZ) Colin & Cindy Alderson Ben Melham 7 55kg 72