2013 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances Leave 72

All of the early betting fancies for the ‘race that stops a nation’ have been paid up for and feature among the 72 Melbourne Cup 2013 first declarations taken by Racing Victoria today.


2011 Melbourne Cup winner Duanden is the top-weight for this year's 'race that stops a nation'. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Held on the first Tuesday of November every year, the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) at the iconic Flemington Racecourse is the pinnacle of racing down under and the race is well and truly on for the 153rd running this spring.

Down from 135 at nomination stage, Melbourne Cup fancies are now sitting at 72 including the past two winners of the world’s richest handicap in Green Moon (2012) and Dunaden (2011).

Mikel Delzangles’ French raider Dunaden, last seen running eight in the Group 2 Qatar Prix Foy (2400m) at Longchamp on September 15, is also the 58.5kg top weight of the current Melbourne Cup entries.

The Lloyd Williams-owned defending champ Green Moon follows on 57.5kg, three kilos more than they carried to victory in the race last year.

Green Moon is also one of eight chances for Williams and trainer Robert Hickmott with their contingent also including the weekend’s Turnbull Stakes third place-getter Fawkner and Sea Moon who was regulated to second upon protest in the Bart Cummings Quality on the weekend.

Better fancied Melbourne Cup hopes for the Williams-Hickmott team meanwhile are the weekend’s Craven Plate runner-up in Sydney Masked Marvel and the Group 1 The Metropolitan winner over the 2400m at Randwick Seville.

Current co-favourites in Melbourne Cup betting meanwhile are the Gai Waterhouse-trained Fiorente and Puissance De Lune paying $6, both still in the mix.

Irish import Fiorente was second in the Melbourne Cup for their Australian debut last spring and raced last weekend with a good fourth to upset winner Happy Trails in the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington.

They were officially withdrawn from contention for the $2.5 million Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) today, for which 41 third acceptances were taken, with their sole focus being the $3 million Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) ahead of the Melbourne Cup.

Puissance De Lune meanwhile ran second in the Turnbull having been given every chance by jockey Glen Boss, the Darren Weir-trained grey tipped to improve as they get up further in distance.

Other top chances in the latest pre-field Melbourne Cup odds are Chris Waller’s Queensland Derby winner Hawkspur who ran fifth in the Turnbull, Luca Cumani’s veteran European raider Mount Athos, last start Irish St Leger champion Voleuse De Coeurs who has come down under to be prepared by Michael Moroney and smart French-trained mare Verema whose trainer Alain de Royer Dupre won the 2010 Melbourne Cup with Americain.

The next round of Melbourne Cup 2013 acceptances are the second declarations on October 28.

Updated Melbourne Cup futures betting is due for release at our No. 1 recommended bookmaker Ladbrokes.com.au shortly so make sure you open your account with them now to get in on the action with your $500 bonus welcome bet!

2013 Melbourne Cup First Acceptances

Flemington Race 7 – 05/11/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ARALDO (GB) Michael Moroney 90
2 BASS STRAIT (NZ) David Hayes 89
3 BRIGANTIN (USA) Pat Carey 104
4 BROWN PANTHER (GB) Tom Dascombe 4.5
5 CARAVAN ROLLS ON (GB) Peter Chapple-Hyam 9.5
6 CHARLESTON LADY (GB) David Vandyke 9.5
7 DANDINO (GB) Marco Botti 5
8 DEAR DEMI Clarry Conners 104
9 DUNADEN (FR) Mikel Delzangles 1
10 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 110
11 FAWKNER Robert Hickmott 107
12 FIORENTE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 112
13 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller 112
14 FORGOTTEN VOICE (IRE) Nicky Henderson 7
15 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney 85
16 GHOST PROTOCOL (IRE) Paul Perry 9.5
17 GLENCADAM GOLD (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 6
18 GOLDONI (IRE) David Hayes 89
19 GREEN MOON (IRE) Robert Hickmott 116
20 GRIS CARO (GB) Jake Stephens 95
21 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller 110
22 HIPPOPUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 9
23 IBICENCO (GER) Peter G Moody 103
24 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 9
25 IT’S A DUNDEEL (NZ) Murray Baker 116
26 JET AWAY (GB) David Hayes 106
27 JULIENAS (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 7.5
28 KELINNI (IRE) Chris Waller 109
29 KESAMPOUR (FR) Peter G Moody 101
30 KINGDOMS (NZ) John O’Shea 8.5
31 LET’S MAKE ADEAL Nigel Blackiston 90
32 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 113
33 MASKED MARVEL (GB) Robert Hickmott 108
34 MASSIYN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 100
35 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller 6.5
36 MOTIVADO (GB) David Hayes 93
37 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 103
38 MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) Luca Cumani 5.5
39 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 110
40 MR MOET Adam Durrant 108
41 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 103
42 MY QUEST FOR PEACE (IRE) Peter G Moody 106
43 OASIS BLOOM Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 98
44 OPINION (IRE) Chris Waller 9.5
45 POLISH KNIGHT (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 8.5
46 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart & James Cummings 102
47 PRINCE CHERI (FR) David Vandyke 9
48 PUISSANCE DE LUNE (IRE) Darren Weir 111
49 QUINTESSENTIAL (NZ) John Sargent 106
50 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop 3
51 ROYAL DESCENT Chris Waller 107
52 ROYAL EMPIRE (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor 5.5
53 RUSCELLO (IRE) Ed Walker 78
54 SANGSTER (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 110
55 SEA MOON (GB) Robert Hickmott 113
56 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 107
57 SHOREHAM Saab Hasan 98
58 SILENT ACHIEVER (NZ) Roger James 112
59 SIMENON (IRE) William Mullins 107
60 SNEAK A PEEK (ITY) Peter G Moody 7.5
61 SUPER COOL Mark Kavanagh 113
62 TALENT SHOW Graeme Ballantyne 99
63 TANBY Robert Hickmott 107
64 TREMEC (NZ) John P Thompson 100
65 TRES BLUE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 4.5
66 TREVIERES (FR) Markus Nigge 99
67 TUSCAN FIRE Dan O’Sullivan 102
68 VAQUERA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 9.5
69 VEREMA (FR) Alain de Royer Dupre 5
70 VOLEUSE DE COEURS (IRE) Michael Moroney 4
71 WALDPARK (GER) Anthony Freedman 109
72 WHY NOT (GER) David Hayes 84