Puissance De Lune Included In Exciting Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations

September 2, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Puissance De Lune Included In Exciting Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations

2013 Melbourne Cup favourite Puissance De Lune is one of nineteen exciting horses nominated for the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes(1600m) that will be run at Flemington on September 7.

Puissance De Lune

Puissance De Lune will make his Group 1 debut in the Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington on Saturday. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

The race was only recently upgraded to Group 1 status and, just like the Memsie Stakes (1400m) last weekend, has drawn a very strong list of nominations that includes a number of leading contenders for the 2013 Spring Racing Carnival.

Puissance De Lune will make his second appearance this preparation after his impressive first-up victory in the Group 2 P.B. Lawrence Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield a fortnight ago.

The Shamardal entire will be making his debut at Group 1 level and will have his true weight-for-age credentials tested when he competes against what is set to be the strongest field he has ever faced in his racing career.

The Macedon Lodge team of Melbourne Cup winning owner Lloyd Williams is set to be well represented in the Makybe Diva Stakes, with Hartani, Masked Marvel, Mourayan and Sea Moon all a chance to being their campaigns in this Saturday’s feature race.

Hartani, Masked Marvel and Sea Moon will be making their Australian racing debuts after competing at the highest level in Europe.

Sea Moon is one of the highest rated horses ever to come to Australia and although he has never been successful at Group 1 level has form around a number of the leading imported stayers that have previously had success in Melbourne.

Masked Marvel defeated Brown Panther and Sea Moon to win the 2011 Group 1 St Leger Stakes (2937m) at Doncaster and has failed to win a race since but has reportedly settled in Australia well and has impressed in two recent exhibition gallops.

Another imported European stayer that will make their Australian racing debut in the Makybe Diva Stakes is Anthony Freedman-trained Waldpark who finished within half a length of Novellist, who has dominated over a mile and a half at Group 1 level in Europe this season, at his last start in Germany.

Freedman has set the Dubawi entire for the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) but he is also included in the nominations for the Caulfield Cup.

Jet Away is another horse whose connections have their eyes on major races this spring that has been nominated for the Makybe Diva Stakes.

The six-year-old has won the Golden Mile (1600m) and Group 3 Easter Cup (2000m) since arriving in Australia and according to trainer David Hayes has come along well ahead of his second preparation in Australia.

Jet Away was purchased to be a Caulfield Cup horse and is currently the joint favourite with Super Cool for the $2.5 million race that will be run at the home of the Melbourne Racing Club on October 19.

Other horses set to begin their spring campaigns in the Makybe Diva Stakes are Mark Kavanagh-trained December Draw, triple Group 1 winner Manighar and promising stayer Ethiopia while Chris Waller has nominated Beaten Up, Hawkspur and Foreteller for this race as well as the Chelmsford Stakes in Sydney.

The full Makybe Diva Stakes 2013 nominations can be found in the table below.

The Makybe Diva Stakes is set to a key lead-up race for the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup, with futures betting markets available for all three races at bookmaker.com.au – the home of the famous $500 bonus bet!

2013 Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations

Flemington Racecourse – 07/08/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BEATEN UP (GB) Chris Waller 110
2 BIT OF HELL (IRE) Mick Price 93
3 DECEMBER DRAW (IRE) Mark Kavanagh 108
4 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 110
5 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller 112
6 HARTANI (IRE) Robert Hickmott 95
7 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller 105
8 JET AWAY (GB) David Hayes 106
9 LET’S MAKE ADEAL Nigel Blackiston 78
10 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 114
11 MASKED MARVEL (GB) Robert Hickmott
12 MASSIYN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 100
13 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 102
14 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 110
15 MR MOET Adam Durrant 108
16 PUISSANCE DE LUNE (IRE) Darren Weir 110
17 SEA MOON (GB) Robert Hickmott
18 TUSCAN FIRE Dan O’Sullivan 102
19 WALDPARK (GER) Anthony Freedman 109

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field