2013 Missile Stakes Nominations Released

August 5, 2013

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2013 Missile Stakes Nominations Released

A diminutive but classy collection of sprint stars, many resuming for the new season, have been nominated for the Missile Stakes 2013 at Royal Randwick in Sydney this Saturday.

Hay List

Hay List has been nominated for but may not run in the 2013 Missile Stakes this Saturday. Photo: Steve Hart.

The opening Group race of the 2013-14 season, the $125,000 Group 3 Missile Stakes (1200m) is a nice starting point for gallopers heading towards some of the bigger sprint showdowns of the Sydney and Melbourne Spring Racing Carnivals.

While there are only nine early entries this year, nominations extended until 11:00am (AEST) tomorrow, the Missile Stakes line-up shouldn’t dissappoint.

One of the headline hopes is triple Group 1 champion, the injury-prone Hay List.

John McNair’s gallant Statue Of Liberty eight-year-old hasn’t raced since running 10th when beaten nearly 20 lengths by arch rival Black Caviar in her swansong race – the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick in April.

Hay List returns off another lengthy spell looking to recapture their former best with an eye on the Group 1 sprints over the coming months having had two official lead-up trials.

They pulled through their latest mid-field finish at Randwick on Friday well with McNair to wait until later in the week as to whether they will run on Saturday.

Along with Hay List another Group 1 winner in the mix is the Gerald Ryan-trained Mrs Onassis.

The now six-year-old General Nediym mare ran first-up at Caulfield on July 13, this year’s Oakleigh Plate winner running a below par eighth when beating home just one other runner in the Listed Sir John Monash Stakes (1100m).

Ryan is hoping she can improve on that going up to the 1200m on Saturday second-up.

Atomic Force is also a Group 1 champ having won the 2011 The Galaxy here in Sydney and later the 2012 Railway Stakes over in New Zealand.

The Danehill Dancer gelding though hasn’t finished top three since January last year.

Joe Pride meanwhile has two nominees with multiple Group 1 performer Rain Affair racing for the first time since their 14th in the Doomben 10,000 and veteran Honours List seven-year-old Title.

Rain Affair showed they were ready to return when winning their Randwick trail on Friday by a massive nine and a half lengths when ridden by Christian Reith.

Reith however will be honouring his commitment to Paul Messara’s recent Civic Stakes winner Mic Mac coming off a second in the Winter Stakes at Rosehill.

They come back in distance here which could be a bit sharp but after carrying 60.5kg last start will appreciate the weight-for-age conditions of the Missile Stakes.

Rain Affair then will be ridden by Nash Rawiller.

Stay tuned for all the latest spring carnival news and updates including the Missile Stakes field on Wednesday.

In the meantime why not check out the generous futures markets open on the spring majors including the Melbourne Cup in November open now at bookmaker.com.au – home of the famous $500 bonus welcome bet offer!

2013 Missile Stakes Nominations

Royal Randwick – 10/08/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster 101
2 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith 103
3 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne 100
4 HAY LIST John McNair 117
5 MIC MAC Paul Messara 106
6 MRS ONASSIS Gerald Ryan 104
7 MY DESTINY Kevin Berry 93
8 RAIN AFFAIR Joseph Pride 111
9 TITLE Joseph Pride 100

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field