2013 Darwin Cup Nominations & Weights

July 29, 2013

2013 Darwin Cup Nominations & Weights

Next Monday, August 5, the premier Northern Territory race will take place with the running of the Darwin Cup 2013– nominations and weights for which have now been released.

Hawks Bay

Dual defending Darwin Cup winner Hawks Bay will shoot for a trifecta next Monday. Photo: Taron Clarke.

While not officially holding black type status, the $200,000 Carlton Mid Darwin Cup (2000m) is worth plenty of prize money and is a prestigious new-season feature for the contenders and punters alike.

This year the Darwin Cup weights are topped by the Neil Dyer-trained Hawks Bay who has been allocated a hefty 65kg.

It’s going to take a colossal effort from the Kyneton-trained Black Hawk gelding, a rising eight-year-old, who hasn’t won a race since last year’s Darwin Cup.

Their narrow victory in the classic last winter was also their fourth consecutive Darwin Cup appearance following two second place finishes in 2009 and 2010 and then back-to-back wins in 2011 and 2012.

Last year they held off Bolton (57kg) by a mere nose when carrying a massive 64.5kg but can they handle half a kilo more to do it again in 2013?

Hawks Bay was last seen running a distant seventh at Fannie Bay on July 27 over the mile with 66kg on their back suggesting the weight might get the better of them even when they step back up to the 2000m.

Dyer could also be represented this year by Bel Sir and Palmyra Boy who are roughies to make the capacity 12-horse Darwin Cup field sitting 19th and 15th respectively.

Following Hawks Bay in the Darwin Cup 2013 weights are three other horses with 60kg or above.

The next heaviest weighted is the now John Stanton-trained Red Colossus (61kg) who is a former Group 3 winner in Melbourne followed by Thumbtacks (60.5kg) recently transferred from Chris Waller (Sydney) to Mark Nyhan (Alice Springs) and Extra Zero (60kg).

Last year’s Darwin Cup runner-up Bolton meanwhile is also nominated for another shot this year, the Stephen Brown-trained Zabeel gelding coming off a fifth to Spartan Eagle, also nominated for the Darwin Cup, in the Metric Mile at Fannie Bay on July 27.

They get in well on 55kg which is actually two kilos less than their weight last year but will have to improve on their runs over the past year as they’ve been beaten three or more lengths in every one of their runs since last year’s Darwin Cup result.

Brown has also nominated for The Big Steel (57kg) who will be vying for their third win on the trot following successive victories over 1600m and then 1900m at Fannie Bay this month, and young Host gelding Host Of The Party (54.5kg) who sit first and second on the Darwin Cup ballot.

Host Of The Party, who turns four on Thursday, has won their past three races including their last for former trainer Robert Smerdon in Melbourne back at the start of June.

Their most recent effort was an eye-catching three length victory in the Northern Territory Derby over the 2000m on July 20 where they carried 58kg, the drop back three and a half kilos for the Cup to work in their favour.

Another from his stables Hierarchy meanwhile is in danger of missing a run sitting 18th on the order of entry.

See below for the official Darwin Cup 2013 nominations and weights.

Darwin Cup betting is due to open at our preferred online bookie bookmaker.com.au shortly so make sure you’re ready for the action by signing up with them today enjoying a bonus bet valued up to $500 for your troubles!

2013 Darwin Cup Nominations & Weights

Darwin Racecourse – 05/08/2013

# Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 HAWKS BAY Neil Dyer 3 65kg 110
2 RED COLOSSUS John Stanton 4 61kg 96
3 THUMBTACKS (NZ) Mark Nyhan 5 60.5kg 95
4 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes 6 60kg 94
5 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold 7 57.5kg 89
6 CONSTANT FORCE Bill & Symon Wilde 8 57kg 88
7 THE BIG STEEL Stephen Brown 1 57kg 88
8 AGRIPPA Michael Hickmott 9 56kg 86
9 BOLTON (NZ) Stephen Brown 10 55kg 84
10 GENEROUS BEAU Todd Balfour 11 55kg 84
11 HOST OF THE PARTY Stephen Brown 2 54.5kg 83
12 ADYNATA Dick Leech 16 54kg 76
13 BEL SIR Neil Dyer 19 54kg 70
14 DRAFTED Philip Cole 20 54kg 70
15 FRANK THE RIPPER Daniel J Clarke 23 54kg 64
16 HAULAGE Dick Leech 22 54kg 65
17 HIERARCHY Stephen Brown 18 54kg 74
18 IGLES STAR Chris Pollard 12 54kg 82
19 LE BEAU CHEVAL Greg Connor 17 54kg 74
20 MR JANSZ Russell Bell 21 54kg 69
21 PALMYRA BOY Neil Dyer 15 54kg 79
22 PORT VELL (NZ) Greg Connor 13 54kg 82
23 SPARTAN EAGLE Bob Richard 14 54kg 79

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field