Caloundra Cup 2013 Nominations Released

June 24, 2013

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Caloundra Cup 2013 Nominations Released

While the Group 1 action is over for the season the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival continues up at the Sunshine Coast this Saturday with 2013 Caloundra Cup Day, the namesake race for which has drawn a bumper 25 nominations.

Shenzhou Steeds

Shenzhou Steeds is back to defend their title in the Caloundra Cup 2013 this Saturday. Photo: Daniel Costello.

One of three stakes on the Sunshine Coast program for Saturday, this year’s $200,000 Listed Yalumba Caloundra Cup (2400m) is shaping up as a beauty with plenty of class shining through from the early entries.

One of the most notable nominees this winter is the defending Caloundra Cup winner Shenzhou Steeds, Michael Moroney’s now five-year-old Ishiguru gelding having won the race on the back of an Ipswich Cup victory 12 months ago.

Shenzhou Steeds bypassed this year’s Ipswich Cup and was last seen running a devastatingly close second to Rialya in the Group 3 Tattersall’s Cup (2200m) on the weekend.

Relishing the Slow (7) Eagle Farm track there, Shenzhou Steeds is a known mudlark whose emphatic seven length Caloundra Cup victory last year was achieved on a Heavy (10) course – conditions Moroney is hoping will be replicated this Saturday.

Moroney has also nominated for Muirfield this year, the Don Edurado gelding coming off a seventh in the Ipswich Cup over the 2150m on June 15.

Ipswich Cup winner Anagold meanwhile backs up in Saturday’s Caloundra Cup seeking the same double achieved by Shenzhou Steeds last season.

Bryan Guy’s Gold Coast-based Anabaa mare improved on some disappointing Brisbane runs to win the Ipswich Cup as a $40 roughie in her first victory since December last year.

Don’t expect to get her at the same juicy odds for the Sunshine Coast edition however.

Also coming via the Ipswich Cup are the likes of the New Zealand-trained runner-up High Kin from the Te Rapa stables of David Green and third placed Za Magic.

High Chaparral mare High Kin has just her second run down under in the Caloundra Cup and would be very well suited to a rain-affected track.

The Brian Smith-trained Za Magic meanwhile has been in nice form this time in, the rising eight-year-old only beaten half a length in the Ipswich Cup.

A number of gallopers are dual nominees in two states for Saturday with some of the Caloundra Cup entries also entered for the $100,000 Listed Winter Stakes (2400m) at Rosehill including the in-form Peal Of Bells.

Gwenda Markwell’s Clanalang five-year-old has own their last two Sydney starts on the trot including the Stayers Cup at Randwick over 3200m on June 8 by an imposing seven lengths indicating they could stay at home for this weekend’s run.

Other notable Caloundra Cup entries for this weekend then include the locally-trained Clonmacnoise who won at the track over 2200m in the mud on Sunday, Tattersall’s Cup third placegetter Rothera, John Thompson’s Shamardashing, the Peter Moody-trained Voila Ici and former Group 1 winner Zabeelionaire.

See below for the full 2013 Caloundra Cup nominations with acceptances due out on Wednesday.

Make sure you don’t have to settle for second best odds this weekend by opening your account at where all new depositing players are rewarded with a bonus bet valued up to $500!

2013 Caloundra Cup Nominations

Sunshine Coast – 29/06/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ANAGOLD Bryan Guy 94
2 BUFFETT (NZ) Bruce W Hill 73
3 CLONMACNOISE (NZ) Alan L Jones 68
4 DAZZLE US Bruce W Hill 80
5 ENDOR (NZ) Graeme & Debbie Rogerson 85
6 EXCELLENT AL Len Treloar 70
7 FIBRILLATION Tim Martin 99
8 HIGH KIN (NZ) David Greene 90
9 I GOTTA FEELING (NZ) John Wheeler 78
10 KAYPERS Greg Bennett 88
11 MARKOUT Pat Richardson 77
12 MUIRFIELD (NZ) Michael Moroney 85
13 PEAL OF BELLS Gwenda Markwell 94
14 RAEBURN Brian Smith 86
15 ROTHERA Brian Smith 100
16 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 88
17 SECRET GARDEN Paul Nolan (Jnr) 83
18 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson 94
19 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney 95
20 TURNER BAYOU (NZ) Patrick Payne 81
21 VERDANT (GB) Robert Smerdon 91
22 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 105
23 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith 86
24 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 100
25 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta 99

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field