2013 Tattersall’s Tiara Nominations Released

Nominations for the season’s final Group 1 showdown have now been released with a classy collection of fillies and mares entered for the Tattersall’s Tiara 2013 at Eagle Farm Racecourse this weekend.


Gai Waterhouse Classic winner Peron will back-up in Saturday's 2013 Tattersall's Tiara in Brisbane. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Rounding out the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival majors the $500,000 Group 1 Sky Racing Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m) is usually the grand final aim for the top tier females and has this year drawn 29 nominees.

Among the contingent of hopefuls vying for a spot in the final field for the weight-for-age clash are two from the stables of Sydney’s premiership shoe-in and leading Group 1 winning trainer for the season Chris Waller.

With eight Group 1 trophies already in the cabinet this term, Waller will vie for the last on the program with consistent elite level performer Red Tracer coming off a Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m) victory and his progressive Redoute’s Choice four-year-old She’s Clean last seen overcoming barrier 13 of 13 at Randwick in to win the Listed June Stakes (1200m) on June 8.

While last year’s Tattersall’s Tiara winner Pear Tart is not in the mix having been sold and retired, former Patinack Farm head trainer John Thompson will still be well represented vying for back-to-back wins with likely favourite Peron.

Rating the up-and-coming Husson filly a nicer type than Pear Tart Thompson is confident heading into Saturday’s race after Peron posted her sixth career win from seven starts over the weekend winning the Listed Gai Waterhouse Classic (1350m) by an easy two lengths at Ipswich.

“All over she’s a better horse than Pear Tart,” Thompson said after Peron’s Ipswich win on Saturday.

“It’s just been a crying shame she wasn’t able to get into some of those earlier black-type races.

“This filly is all class.

“Class goes a long way and she’s a very good filly still on the way up.

“If she gets into the Tiara in good condition she’ll give it a real shake.”

Other Tattersall’s Tiara entries coming via the Gai Waterhouse Classic include third placegetter Doubtfilly from the Sunshine Coast stables of Stuart Kendrick, the Liam Birchley-trained Whateverwhenever (5th) and Bjorn Baker’s Bel Esprit mare City Of Song (6th).

Also in the mix are some genuine Group 1 types including the Guy Walter-trained Skyerush last seen winning the Group 2 Emancipation Stakes (1600m) at Randwick in late April, 2011 Tattersall’s Tiara winner Yosei after her first win since then and Guy Walter’s dual Group 1 champion Streama coming off a very brave third in the Stradbroke Handicap.

There are plenty of other live wire chances among the nominations too with standouts including the Anthony Cummings-trained Dark Jewel Classic winner Arctic Flight coming off a third to Red Tracer in the Dane Ripper, Dane Ripper runner-up Floria from the Melbourne stables of Peter Moody, Murray Baker’s New Zealand raider Diademe and the Darren Weir-trained Royal Bender.

Check out the full list of 2013 Tattersall’s Tiara nominations in the table below with the final field and barriers due for release on Wednesday.

Now is the time to get ready for the Tattersall’s Tiara Day action by opening your online betting account with bookmaker.com.au, making your first deposit with them and enjoying a bonus bet valued up to $500 when you enter the code word BONUSBET!

2013 Tattersall’s Tiara Nominations

Eagle Farm Racecourse – 22/06/2013

# Horse Trainer
1 AMETSIS Russell Cameron
2 ARCTIC FLIGHT Anthony Cummings
3 AVALADYLUCK Stuart Kendrick
4 CITY OF SONG Bjorn Baker
5 DIADEME (NZ) Murray Baker
6 DIAMOND EARTH Anthony Cummings
7 DOUBTFILLY Stuart Kendrick
8 FLORIA (NZ) Peter G Moody
9 GAI’S CHOICE David Pfieffer
10 KNEELING Peter G Moody
11 OUR MISS JONES (NZ) Michael Kent
13 PERON John P Thompson
14 RED TRACER Chris Waller
15 RISK AVERSION Michael Lakey
16 ROYAL BENDER Darren Weir
17 SERENE STAR Michael Kent
18 SHANNARA Peter Snowden
19 SHE’S CLEAN Chris Waller
21 SKYERUSH Guy Walter
22 SOFT SAND Paul Messara
23 SPIRIT SONG Kelso Wood
24 STEPS IN TIME John O’Shea
25 STREAMA Guy Walter
26 TAMBO’S JEWEL Stuart Kendrick
28 WILD MIA (USA) Troy Corstens
29 YOSEI Stuart Webb