Quality Speedsters in 2013 BRC Sprint Nominations

Saturday’s 2013 Doomben Cup day is shaping up as a cracker and one of the key races on the program is the Group 3 2013 BRC Sprint (1350m).

Famous Seamus heads nominations for the BRC Sprint. Photo: Daniel Costello.

The $125,000 sprint has attracted a hot list of entries, which includes a number of southern raiders as well as some talented locals.

One of the top horses nominated is Norm Mayfield-Smith’s Stradbroke-bound gelding Famous Seamus who is in career best form.

The four-year-old will chase a third straight win this weekend after winning the Hinkler Handicap and Prime Minister’s Cup in Queensland at his past two starts.

The Prime Minister’s Cup is a common lead-up to the BRC sprint and also stepping nominated are second and third placegetters River Lad and Fire Up Fifi.

Five-year-old Sunshine Coast-based gelding River Lad is in a rich vein of form, having won two of his last four and finished top three in his past four starts.

With a handicap rating of 107, Clarry Conners’ gelding Decision Time is the highest rated horse in the race.

The 2010 Golden Slipper runner-up has produced some strong performances this year including running second to Snitzerland in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes and third in the Group 1 Galaxy.

Another southern speedster in nominations is Gerald Ryan-trained gelding Hot Snitzel.

The five-time stakes winner won the Group 3 Sebring Stakes two starts back but will have to bounce back after finishing 13th in the Prime Minister’s Cup.

Stepping up in class but in sensational form is Barry Lockwood’s gelding Tokamak who will chase a fifth consecutive win this weekend.

Others included in BRC Sprint nominations are Group 1 winner Pear Tart, Sydney sprinter See The World and Paul Messara’s well-regarded galloper Mahisara.

Another huge day of racing in Brisbane this weekend and bookmaker.com.au will have huge odds on all the top racing action!

Ensure you are making the most of your winter betting by joining today quoting the code BONUSBET to take advantage of their sensational $500 bonus bet offer!

BRC Sprint 2013 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BELLTONE Kelso Wood 100
2 CELTIC DANCER Noel J Doyle 94
3 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners 107
4 DELAGO PILLI Graham Pollock 76.5
5 DOUBTFUL JACK Kelly Schweida 92
6 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith 105
7 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote 98
8 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings 100
9 GREEN BIRDIE (NZ) Darlene Duryea 101
10 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan 106
11 JUSTANEXCUSE (NZ) Lisa Latta 98
12 KING SAUL Kelly Schweida 96
13 LATIN NEWS Bryan Dais 96
14 LISTEN SON Tony Gollan 98
15 MAHISARA Paul Messara 97
16 MEET GEORGE Brian Smith 94
17 MORNING CAPTAIN Kelly Doughty 98
19 PANE IN THE GLASS John P Thompson 93
20 PEAR TART John P Thompson 105
21 PEPPERWOOD Liam Birchley 93
22 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan 102
23 PROST John P Thompson 86
24 READY TO RIP Peter G Moody 104
25 RIVA DE LAGO Chris Waller 101
26 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall 103
27 SEE THE WORLD Joseph Pride 102
28 SHE’S CLEAN Chris Waller 95
29 SMOKIN’ JOEY Mick Price 101
30 STARTSMEUP John, Daniel & Christopher Meagher 102
31 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff 100
32 TOKAMAK Barry Lockwood 93
33 WAR ENDS Toby Edmonds 95
34 WHAT HAPPENEDHENRY Kelly Schweida 85