Another Win for Famous Seamus – 2013 Prime Minister’s Cup Results

May 4, 2013

Another Win for Famous Seamus – 2013 Prime Minister’s Cup Results

Sydney gelding Famous Seamus has stolen another race off the Queenslanders with a strong win in the Listed 2013 Prime Minister’s Cup (1300m) at the Gold Coast today.

Famous Seamus continued his strong form to win the Prime Minister's Cup. Photo: Daniel Costello.

After solid results in the early autumn, trainer Noel Mayfield-Smith decided to take the four-year-old to Queensland and he immediately struck to win the Hinkler Handicap last month.

He showed no signs of slowing down today as he claimed victory in an open betting race from consistent Brisbane gallopers River Lad and Fire Up Fifi.

Fellow southerner Mahisara led and ensured the race would be run at a genuine tempo which allowed every horse their chance in the Queensland feature race.

But it was Famous Seamus who peaked at the right time in the run before showing toughness to hold off the fast-finishing River Lad.

The son of Elusive City now has seven wins and four minor placings from 17 career starts.

Famous Seamus is expected to go on to better races at the Brisbane winter carnival and is nominated for the 2013 Stradbroke Handicap.

He was one of 140 horses entered for the Stradbroke on Wednesday which is set to attract a stronger field than usual courtesy of an increased $1 million winner’s cheque.

Among the key horses nominated for Queensland’s most prestigious race are Group 1 winners Epaulette and Sea Siren and Queensland’s number on horse Buffering.

Follow the form out of this race into Brisbane’s winter carnival and back great value winners at, the fully Australian-owned and operated bookie and home of the $500 bonus bet offer!

Prime Minister’s Cup 2013 – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 4 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Glen Colless 3 57kg $7
2 3 RIVER LAD Natalie Mccall Eddie Wilkinson 7 57.5kg $11
3 13 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote Ryan Wiggins 1 54kg $10
4 12 MAHISARA Paul Messara Jim Cassidy 12 54.5kg $5F
5 6 BELLTONE Kelso Wood Chris Munce 11 56kg $26
6 5 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan Damian Browne 6 57kg $12
7 9 MORNING CAPTAIN Kelly Doughty Jim Byrne 16 55kg $41
8 7 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff Brad Stewart 2 56kg $11
9 10 UTAH SAINTS Brent Stanley Nathan Stanley 8 55kg $7
10 2 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Michael Cahill 5 58.5kg $31
11 15 LATIN NEWS Bryan Dais Larry Cassidy 15 54kg $61
12 16 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson Nathan Berry 4 54kg $51
13 1 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 10 59.5kg $5.50
14 14 BIGGLES Noel J Doyle Tim Clark 9 54kg $26
15 11 KING SAUL Kelly Schweida Ric McMahon 14 54.5kg $101
16 8 WILD AND PROUD David Pfieffer Luke Nolen 13 55.5kg $61

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field