Quality 2013 Doomben Cup Nominations Released

May 1, 2013

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Quality 2013 Doomben Cup Nominations Released

Thirty nine horses have been included in initial nominations for the Group 1 2013 Doomben Cup (2000m) which takes place as the winter’s most lucrative staying race at Doomben on May 18.

Lights Of Heaven is one of top Doomben Cup nominations. Photo: Steve Hart.

There is no shortage of quality and among the big names entered are Peter Moody-trained pair Lights Of Heaven and Manighar.

The pair finished second and third respectively in the Doomben Cup last year behind German import Mawingo.

Lights Of Heaven will run in the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes this weekend after a quality lead-up to Queensland with a win in the Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes.

Also running in the Hollindale and likely to head to the Doomben Cup is Solzhenitsyn who comes from the stable of Queensland’s leading trainer Robert Heathcote.

The big gelding was scratched from the Doncaster Mile due to a heavy track and earlier in the autumn finished a powerful third behind Pierro and More Joyous in the Canterbury Stakes.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller is never afraid to travel his horses and has nominated seven of his charges.

Heading the group is import Foreteller who won the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes over the Doomben Cup distance of 2000m at the Sydney autumn carnival.

Another notable southern horse entered for the $500,000 event is Secret Admirer who was fifth in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes at her last start.

The Grahame Begg-trained mare hasn’t won since the 2011 Epsom Handicap but is a Group 1 regular and has placed seven times in the top grade in addition to his two Group 1 wins.

Top Sydney trainer Gai Waterhouse has one horse nominated in Hippopus who was last seen winning the VRC St Leger (2800m) by three lengths.

Other key horses in Doomben Cup nominations include Sam Kavanagh’s import Midsummer Sun, Sydney pair Lightinthenite and Lamasery and emerging local hopes Transporter and Margins.

For excellent odds on all the upcoming Brisbane winter action, be sure to visit bookmaker.com.au!

Home of the $500 bonus bet offer, bookmaker.com.au is fully Australian owned and have a wide range of markets across all the top local and international racing.

Doomben Cup 2013 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 ALL TOO HARD Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
2 BEATEN UP (GB) Chris Waller
3 BOREHOLE David J Lawlor
4 CATHAY LADY John Sargent
5 CLASS IS CLASS (IRE) Chris Waller
6 DANLEIGH Chris Waller
7 EPIC Kelly Schweida
9 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller
10 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd
11 HIPPOPUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
12 HOUR OF PERIL John P Thompson
13 ILLO (GER) Chris Waller
15 LAMASERY David Vandyke
16 LIDARI (FR) Peter G Moody
18 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody
19 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody
20 MARGINS Ben Currie
21 MAULES CREEK John P Thompson
22 MIDSUMMER SUN (GB) Sam Kavanagh
23 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller
24 PIMMS TIME (NZ) Guy Lowry
25 PIRATE BAY (GB) Kris Lees
26 POSTE RESTANTE (NZ) Desleigh Forster
27 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson
30 ROTHERA Brian Smith
31 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
32 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg
33 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney
34 SOLZHENITSYN (NZ) Robert Heathcote
35 STOUT HEARTED (USA) Chris Waller
36 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
37 TRANSPORTER John P Thompson
38 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody
39 ZURELLA (NZ) Shaune Ritchie

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field