Classy Sprinters Included in 2013 Doomben 10,000 Nominations

A bumper list of nominations featuring several classy sprinters has been announced for the Group 1 2013 Doomben 10,000 which will take place at Doomben on May 25.

Buffering Heads Doomben 10,000 Nominations. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

The $650,000 sprint is the second richest race of the Brisbane Winter Carnival and heading the 65 horses nominated is Queensland’s number one horse Buffering.

The five-year-old gelding is set to start as favourite in Saturday week’s BTC Cup after a thumping 3 1/2 length win in the Group 2 Victory Stakes on Saturday.

Buffering finished second in last year’s Doomben 10,000 behind Sea Siren who has been entered to defend her titles in both the BTC Cup and Doomben 10,000.

There is no shortage of southern raiders included in nominations and among the more high profile is Joe Pride-trained front-runner Rain Affair.

The Sydney sprinter heads to Queensland to chase an elusive Group 1 win and was most recently seen running second to All Too Hard in the All Aged Stakes.

Another big name Sydney galloper entered for the Doomben 10,000 is Group 1 winner Epaulette who took out the Golden Rose in the spring and finished third in the Caulfield Guineas.

The Darley-owned galloper was a disappointing sixth in the All Aged Stakes but the start before ran a strong second behind Black Caviar in the TJ Smith.

He is one of five Darley-owned entrants, joined by Rarefied, Complicate, Academus and Skytrain.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller has nominated a trio that includes in-form mare Arinosa and veteran Group 1 winner Rangirangdoo.

Former Queenslander and now Victoria’s leading trainer Peter Moody always takes a strong contingent to Brisbane and he has three nominated for the Doomben 10,000 including Moment Of Change.

Moment Of Change won the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in the spring and returned this autumn to grab second-place honours in the Lightning Stakes and the Newmarket Handicap.

Other notable Doomben 10,000 entries include spruik Brisbane colt Better Than Ready, former Golden Slipper runner-up Decision Time and Tony Gollan’s Group 1 regulars Spirit Of Boom and Temple Of Boom.

With the Brisbane winter carnival just around the corner, there has never been a better time to join who are fully Australian-owned and operated. They are currently rewarding new customers with a $500 bonus bet which can be split up to four ways!

Simply sign up quoting the code BONUSBET today to get involved!

Doomben 10,000 2013 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 ACADEMUS Peter Snowden
2 AFRICAN PULSE Michael Moroney
3 AL ANEED Mick Price
4 ARINOSA Chris Waller
5 ASHOKAN Gai Waterhouse
6 BELLTONE Kelso Wood
7 BETTER THAN READY Kelly Schweida
8 BIGGLES Noel J Doyle
9 BLACK MAGIC Bruce Brown
10 BUFFERING Robert Heathcote
12 COMPLICATE Peter Snowden
13 CONSERVATORIUM Gary Kennewell
14 CORNWALL PARK (NZ) Anthony Cummings
15 DANCES ON STARS (NZ) Gerald Ryan
16 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners
17 DOUBTFILLY Stuart Kendrick
18 EMMALENE Liam Birchley
19 EPAULETTE Peter Snowden
20 EXIMIUS Mick Price
21 FAT AL Gai Waterhouse
22 FERMENT John P Thompson
23 FIRE UP FIFI Robert Heathcote
24 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings
25 HOT SNITZEL Gerald Ryan
26 JETSET LAD (NZ) John Wheeler
27 KING SAUL Kelly Schweida
28 LADY MELKSHAM John Sadler
29 LATIN NEWS Bryan Dais
30 LINTON John Sadler
32 MAHISARA Paul Messara
33 MANAWANUI Ron Leemon
34 METALLURGICAL John P Thompson
37 OASIS ROSE Graeme & Debbie Rogerson
38 ORTENSIA Paul Messara
39 PANE IN THE GLASS John P Thompson
40 PEAR TART John P Thompson
41 PERON John P Thompson
42 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan
43 PUNCH ON Peter Balzen
44 RAIN AFFAIR Joseph Pride
45 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller
46 RAREFIED Peter Snowden
47 READY TO RIP Peter G Moody
48 REFLECTANCE John P Thompson
49 RIVA DE LAGO Chris Waller
50 SEA SIREN John O’Shea
51 SEE THE WORLD Joseph Pride
52 SKYTRAIN Peter Snowden
53 SMOKIN’ JOEY Mick Price
54 SNIPER’S BULLET Tracey Bartley
55 SOOKIE John P Thompson
56 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan
57 SPIRIT SONG Kelso Wood
58 STARTSMEUP John, Daniel & Christopher Meagher
59 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff
60 STEPS IN TIME John O’Shea
61 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan
63 WILD MIA (USA) Troy Corstens
64 YOSEI Stuart Webb
65 YOUR SONG Anthony Cummings