Second Effort Chasing Second Title – 2013 Wangoom Handicap Field

April 30, 2013

Second Effort Chasing Second Title – 2013 Wangoom Handicap Field

Clinton McDonald’s six-year-old sprinter Second Effort will carry the topweight of 58.5kg in Wednesday’s Listed $150,000 2013 Wangoom Handicap (1200m) which takes place as part of Warrnambool’s exciting three-day carnival.

Second Effort is gunning for consecutive Wangoom Handicap titles. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Second Effort is chasing his second consecutive Wangoom title after edging out Darren Weir’s talented mare Wealth Princess last year.

The Mossman gelding backed up that success in the early spring to win at Group 2 level in the PB Lawrence Stakes but is yet to rediscover that form this autumn.

Second Effort was nine lengths last in the Group 2 Challenge Stakes first-up before beating just one runner home in the Sebring Stakes.

Out to avenge last year’s result will be Wealth Princess who will have to overcome the early obstacle of a barrier 19 draw.

A winner of seven of 15 starts, Wealth Princess hasn’t been seen since she finished 17th in the Stradbroke Handicap at last year’s Brisbane winter carnival.

The San Luis seven-year-old has faced plenty of injury problems throughout her career but was second in the Group 1 Winter Stakes in 2010 and won the Group 3 Glenlogan Park Stakes last year.

Stepping out for Leon Corstens is Tokugawa who has won four of 12 starts and is likely to start among the favourites on Wednesday.

Also among the top chances is That’s The One who was strong first-up when finishing runner-up in a handicap at Flemington on April 13.

David Bourne’s four-year-old Zamorar struggled first-up but is a consistent galloper and has won for times and placed another seven from 14 starts.

Others in the Wangoom Handicap field include Peter Moody’s Dayita and Michael O’Leary’s seven-year-old Glaneuse.

For great odds on all the Warrnambool carnival action this week head to preferred bookie,

Right now is the time to sign up at the Australian-owned bookie as they are currently offering an awesome $500 bonus bet for new customers!

Wangoom Handicap 2013 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 1061370×00 SECOND EFFORT Clinton McDonald Brad Rawiller 9 58.5kg 101
2 2132x2160x WEALTH PRINCESS (NZ) Darren Weir Michael Walker 19 57.5kg 103
3 42123232×0 ZAMORAR David Bourne Steven Arnold 8 56.5kg 97
4 x6300166x4 GLANEUSE Michael O’Leary Ms Linda Meech 15 56kg 96
5 6x1381643x TOKUGAWA Leon Corstens Nicholas Hall 14 55kg 94
6 567x0910x5 RED COLOSSUS Brett Scott Darren Gauci 3 54.5kg 93
7 131250x48x GYBE David Hayes Chad Schofield (a) 18 54kg 95
8 62x243257x WILD MIA (USA) Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 20 54kg 93
9 15117x134x CONSTANT FORCE Bill & Symon Wilde Peter Mertens (late alt) 4 54kg 92
10 2149x498x2 THAT’S THE ONE Colin & Cindy Alderson Glen Boss 12 54kg 90
11 20x231226x ANOTHER PRELATE Quinton Scott Craig Robertson 17 54kg 89
12 3x520x1210 KING COTTON Mervyn McKenzie Jarrod Fry 5 54kg 89
13 7x5281165x LE REMAS Brian McKnight Ms Christine Puls 2 54kg 89
14 62600×2183 POPULATION Anthony Freedman Daniel Moor 11 54kg 89
15 12320x360x AGRIPPA John Sadler Dwayne Dunn 16 54kg 87
16 3311x0346x DAYITA Peter G Moody Jake Duffy (a) 13 54kg 87
17e 92255220×6 DASH FOR VIZ Robbie Griffiths Dean Yendall 7 54kg 86
18e x9311x6843 DEE BEE NINE Will Clarken Dean Holland 10 54kg 84
19e 17x353667x SOPHROSYNE Jarrod McLean Damian Lane 1 54kg 82
20e x915x2660x BALZEUS Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 6 54kg 78

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Waller’s fillies dominat...

California Turbo among 2018 Gu...

California Turbo among 2018 Gunsynd Classic nominations

Queensland Derby hopeful California Turbo is among the twenty-two nominations...

Impending heads up 2018 Victor...

Impending heads up 2018 Victory Stakes Nominations

Last year’s Stradbroke Handicap winner Impending heads up the nominations for...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field