Platelet Wins 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes – Morphettville Results

Platelet has won the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes at Morphettville Racecourse today April 27, 2013.


Platelet is the 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes winner. Photo: Jenny Barnes

The four-year-old flew down the middle of the track to claim the 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes by three quarters of a length ahead of Angelic Light, who ran second, and Yosei, who passed the post in third.

Platelet has now won six of her 18 race starts and has earned more than $625,000 in prize money during her horse racing career.

Trainer Darren Weir was over the moon to have secured just the second Group 1 victory of his career in today’s 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes.

“It’s great, a great thrill,” Weir said.

“We were a bit worried about the barrier draw earlier in the week.

“But it just worked out perfect.

“It’s the second one so it’s a great feeling.”

Weir revealed that Platelet would likely now head to the Group 1 The Goodwood at the same track in two weeks’ time.

“I guess so but she’s done her job now,” he said.

Platelet was ridden to victory by jockey Ben Melham in today’s 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes, which is also known as the 2013 Sportingbet Classic.

She was paying long odds of $15 to win the race at, despite her close second behind Kulgrinda in the Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes in Adelaide last start.

Get the best 2013 Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival odds from our favourite online horse racing bookmaker are giving away a bonus bet worth up to $500 to all new customers for a short time only who sign up and enter the exclusive promo code BONUSBET.

So open an account today and start receiving’s unbeatable betting odds today!

2013 Robert Sangster Stakes Race Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 3 PLATELET Darren Weir Ben Melham 11 56.5kg $9.50
2 12 ANGELIC LIGHT Robbie Griffiths Ryan Maloney 0.7L 2 54.5kg $17
3 1 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 1.1L 6 56.5kg $26
4 2 KULGRINDA Peter G Moody Daniel Stackhouse 1.7L 12 56.5kg $15
5 6 ALTAR Peter Snowden Brad Rawiller 1.8L 7 56.5kg $17
6 4 AVOID LIGHTNING David Jolly Matthew Neilson 2.6L 3 56.5kg $12
7 10 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan Corey Brown 3L 5 54.5kg $1.60F
8 7 JUST DISCREET Phillip Stokes Adrian Patterson 3.5L 4 56.5kg $31
9 11 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon Michael Walker 4L 9 54.5kg $10
10 8 CLASSY CHLOE John Hickmott Joe Bowditch 4.3L 8 56.5kg $41
11 9 LIGHT EXPRESS Michael Hibbs Ms Clare Lindop 4.9L 1 56.5kg $51
12 5 KOONOOMOO Rod Grantley Nicholas Hall 7.3L 10 56.5kg $21