Shellscrape Among 2013 DC McKay Stakes Nominations

April 22, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Shellscrape Among 2013 DC McKay Stakes Nominations

After a failed career at stud former Group 1 winner Shellscrape returns to the track this weekend having been nominated for the DC McKay Stakes 2013 at Adelaide’s Robert Sangster Stakes Day at Morphettville.

Avoid Lightning

Avoid Lightning has been dually nominated for Robert Sangster Stakes Day at Morphettville on Saturday. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Winner of the 2010 The Galaxy the now six-year-old Dane Shadow stallion was retired in May of 2011 but their progeny at stud suffered from a number of physical defects prompting connections to bring them back to racing.

Not having raced since their 10th to the awesome Black Caviar in the 2011 TJ Smith Stakes in Sydney Shellscrape, now prepared by Nikki Burke in Cranbourne, trialled at Werribee on April 15 and won their 800m heat indicating they still knew what this turf business was all about ahead of their return in the $115,000 Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m).

A total of 23 sprinters are nominated for the DC McKay this year including a number of exciting interstate raiders such as the Peter Snowden-trained Canny Lad mare Glows and recent Flemington winner General Truce

Of the local hopes some of the better known entries include the John Hyam-trained Believe In More coming off three straight wins, multiple stakes winner Catapulted and the recent Oakbank Stakes champ Riziz.

Oakbank Stakes runner-up Avoid Lightning is also nominated for the DC McKay.

David Jolly’s RN Irwin Stakes placegetter however is more likely to be accepted for the $400,000 Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) instead after the Blevic mare’s effort behind Kulgrinda on April 13.

See below for the full 2013 DC McKay Stakes nominations with final fields for all the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival features on the weekend to be released on Wednesday.

The day’s two Group 1 feature fields however are out Tuesday with the Robert Sangster and the Schweppes Oaks line-ups to be published right here at

Whether it’s the Sydney Cup Day showdowns or the Adelaide races you’re after the odds on for this weekend make sure you head to for the best prices.

Don’t have a account? Join today quoting the code BONUSBET to also enjoy having your first deposit matched 100 percent as a bonus bet valued up to a very useful $500!

2013 DC McKay Stakes Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 27/03/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ACHENAR Annette Morrison 78
2 AVOID LIGHTNING David Jolly 100
3 BELIEVE IN MORE John Hyam 90
4 BELLISSIMO Anthony Cummings 77
5 CATAPULTED Mark Kavanagh 108
6 CLASSY CHLOE John Hickmott 93
7 CONSERVATORIUM Gary Kennewell 98
8 ESPRIT DE BULLET (NZ) John Hyam 92
9 FLAMBERGE Peter G Moody 79
10 GENERAL TRUCE Ricky Maund 104
11 GLOWS Peter Snowden 87
12 GYBE David Hayes 95
13 HIDDEN VALUE Trevor Dansie 95
14 HONEY FLOWER Ross McDonald 93
15 JAYCONI Jason Warren 82
16 KARACATIS Richard Jolly 84
17 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price 79
18 MEADOWS JIM Jim Smith 90
19 PORTLAND Jennifer Williams 70
20 RESCUE MISSION (NZ) Anthony Freedman 95
21 RIZIZ Ken Sweeney 93
22 SECRET FLYER Mark Young 95
23 SHELLSCRAPE Nikki Burke 103

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field