No Black Caviar in Robert Sangster Stakes Nominations 2013

April 17, 2013

No Black Caviar in Robert Sangster Stakes Nominations 2013

The world’s best mare and defending champ Black Caviar is the most notable omission from the 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes nominations, early entries for the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival classic run on April 27 taken this week.


The in-form Arinosa will look for her fourth autumn win on the trot in the 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes. Photo: Steve Hart.

Twelve months ago Peter Moody’s undefeated turf queen, who last weekend took her record to an incredible 25 straight turf triumphs with her big TJ Smith Stakes success, travelled over to Morphettville and won her Adelaide debut in emphatic style in the $400,000 Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m).

She would continue on to also dominate the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m), South Australia’s other premier sprint, but will not be back to defend her title in either this year with a return to Brisbane for the 2013 BTC Cup the likely option for Black Caviar next race.

There will still be a talented line-up of fillies and mares facing off in the Robert Sangster Stakes, also known as the Sportingbet Classic, Saturday week however with 27 nominations released.

Moody has nominated for one mare this year to hand him with back-to-back victories with his Exceed And Excel five-year-old Kulgrinda in top form to emulate her star stablemate after her good win in the Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes (1100m) at Morpehttville last Saturday.

This year’s Sportingbet Classic entries are in fact dominated by interstate raiders with just three locally-trained runners in the mix for the trophy this year.

Punters have to look back to 2001 for the last Adelaide-trained mare to win the Robert Sangster with the John Hall-trained Umaline.
While the local contingent may be small numbers wise there no shortage of class in the trio with the David Jolly-trained Blevic four-year-old Avoid Lightning who has won six of her 12 starts to date, Classy Chloe from the stables of John Hickmott and Phillip Stokes’ first-up Matrice Stakes winner Just Discreet all looking to keep the title in SA.

Looking to steal the show are then an equally strong line-up of interstate-trained hopefuls some of the headliners of which include globetrotting mare Ortensia, former Golden Slipper placegetter Snitzerland multiple Group 1 champ Yosei, and the John O’Shea-trained Sea Siren out to improve on her fifth to Black Caviar in the TJ Smith Stakes.

Also in the mix is Chris Waller’s progressive Dash For Cash grey Arinosa (pictured) fresh off a stand-out win in the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes (1200m) last weekend which was her fourth straight win and first at Group 2 level.

Waller has also nominated for Redoute’s Choice six-year-old Dystopia who ran fourth in the Sapphire on the back of a Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) fourth first-up last month.

Also with multiple entries are Anthony Cummings nominating for four including Aguda and Diamond Earth; and Mick Price who shoots for his third Robert Sangster Stakes success.

Price first won the event in 2004 with Bel Mer adding another victory with French Bid (2009) and will this year saddle up Fastnet Rock four-year-old Halle Rocks and the consistent Tariana.

Also released were the nominations for the $400,000 Schweppes Australasian Oaks (2000m) run on Robert Sangster Stakes Day, 36 three-year-old fillies entered this year.

See below for the official 2013 Sportingbet Classic (Robert Sangster Stakes) nominations with the final field due for release next week.

Whether it’s the last Group 1’s in Sydney or the upcoming Adelaide showdowns you’re wanting to bet on make sure you get the best possible prices on the ponies by betting online every time with

Don’t have a account? Join today and quote the promo code BONUSBET to have your first deposit matched dollar for dollar as a bonus bet valued right up to $500 this autumn!

2013 Robert Sangster Stakes Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 27/04/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AGUEDA Anthony Cummings 77
2 ALTAR Peter Snowden 94
3 ANGELIC LIGHT Robbie Griffiths 84
4 ARCTIC FLIGHT Anthony Cummings 77
5 ARINOSA Chris Waller 107
6 AVOID LIGHTNING David Jolly 100
7 CLASSY CHLOE John Hickmott 93
8 DIAMOND EARTH Anthony Cummings 76
9 DYSTOPIA Chris Waller 103
10 EVER THE SAME Anthony Cummings 90
11 GYBE David Hayes 95
12 HALLE ROCKS Mick Price 81
13 JUST DISCREET Phillip Stokes 94
14 KOONOOMOO Rod Grantley 97
15 KULGRINDA Peter G Moody 106
16 LADY MELKSHAM John Sadler 97
17 LIGHT EXPRESS Michael Hibbs 82
18 ORTENSIA Paul Messara 110
19 PLATELET Darren Weir 102
20 RED FEZ David Hayes 75
21 SEA SIREN John O’Shea 114
22 SERENE STAR Michael Kent 96
23 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon 90
24 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan 110
25 SOFT SAND Paul Messara 95
26 TARIANA Mick Price 94
27 YOSEI Stuart Webb 107

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field