Bel Sprinter from last to win The Galaxy 2013

March 30, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Bel Sprinter from last to win The Galaxy 2013

Bel Sprinter has produced amazing speed to come from last after missing the jump to win the Group 1 The Galaxy at Rosehill Gardens today.

After the late scratching of Unpretentious who reared up in the barriers Bel Sprinter missed the start and was 2 lengths last. Snitzerland found the lead on the rail and lead from Pampelonne and Tiger Tees who was trapped outside.

Bel Sprinter

Bel Sprinter is The Galaxy 2013 winner. Photo: Steve Hart

Snitzerland was out in front by a length into the straight when Bel Sprinter motored down the centre of the track and hit the front with 100m to go and pulled away to win by 3 1/4 lenghts. Second place went to Snitzerland with Decision Time third and Dystopia fourth.

Promising filly Isabella Snowflake, who made the field after Hay List and Adebisi were scratched during the week, broke down badly after the race and is not expected to race again.

The win by Bel Sprinter, a 5-year-old Bel Esprit gelding, was an impressive result and was just 0.06 outside the track record.

Trainer Jason Warren was exasperated after the race,

“In these big races he always misses the start. Kerrin [McEvoy] who has played it cool, got to the outside, let rip. Unreal.”

“I got to pay special credit to my vets, this horse has had throat surgery… they’ve fixed him, he was only getting half as much air in as he needed. We knew he was the real deal, he’s still doing plenty wrong but looks like we’re going to stay in Sydney for another two weeks,” Warren said.

Bel Sprinter will next take on Black Caviar in the TJ Smith Stakes at Royal Randwick in two weeks on the 13 April 2013. Want $400 in bonus bets for the TJ Smith Stakes? Then join today and use bonus code BONUSBET and get your first deposit matched in bonus bets worth up to $400!

2013 The Galaxy Handicap Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 7 BEL SPRINTER Jason Warren Kerrin McEvoy 11 53.5kg $10
2 5 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan Corey Brown 3.3L 8 53.5kg $3.70F
3 3 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners James McDonald 4.1L 9 55kg $17
4 13 DYSTOPIA Chris Waller Nathan Berry 4.8L 1 52kg $19
5 4 TEMPLE OF BOOM Tony Gollan Hugh Bowman 6L 7 55kg $71
6 10 TITLE Joseph Pride Jay Ford 6.6L 5 53.5kg $41
7 6 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith Tommy Berry 8.1L 6 53.5kg $71
8 2 SEA SIREN John O’Shea Jim Cassidy 8.6L 2 56kg $6.50
9 9 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride Christian Reith 8.7L 13 53.5kg $11
10 16 ISABELLA SNOWFLAKE Mick Price Craig Newitt 8.8L 10 52kg $21
11 11 GOLDEN ARCHER Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 10.2L 4 52.5kg (cd 53kg) $21
12 8 HOWMUCHDOYOULOVEME Con Karakatsanis Brenton Avdulla 10.3L 3 53.5kg $9
13 12 PAMPELONNE Tim Martin Glen Boss 16.3L 12 52.5kg $9
18 SHE’S A FOX Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 0
17 FIRE THUNDERBOLT Erwin Takacs 0
1 HAY LIST John McNair Glyn Schofield 0
14 ADEBISI Desleigh Forster Jason Collett 0
15 UNPRETENTIOUS Nikki Burke Craig Williams 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field