Norsqui Wins Adelaide Cup 2013 – Morphettville Results

March 11, 2013

Norsqui Wins Adelaide Cup 2013 – Morphettville Results

Norsqui has proven too good in today’s 2013 Adelaide Cup, winning the $220,000 race by half a length at Morphettville Racecourse.

The Matsqui gelding mowed down leader Waratone in the final straight to win the race by half a length.


Norsqui (pictured) has won the 2013 Adelaide Cup at Morphettville Racecourse. Picture by Race Horse Photos Australia.

Waratone held on for a strong second, while Dame Claire rounded out the placings in third position.

Norsqui has now won eight of his 36 race starts and has earned more than $650,000 in prize money.

The six-year-old came off a fourth placing in the Group 3 Launceston Cup last start and proved himself as a true 3,200 metres horse in today’s 2013 Adelaide Cup.

Trainer Walter McShane was over the moon with Norsqui’s 2013 Adelaide Cup win.

“We set out to do it last year and it’s taken a lot of work but we’ve done it,” McShane said after the race.

“He ran a very good race last year at the end of a preparation.

“This time we programmed him to win it.

“I’ve had some big thrills but this is the biggest.

“I’m proud of the horse and he’s very proud of himself too.”

Norsqui was ridden by jockey Chris Symons in today’s 2013 Adelaide Cup, who was equally thrilled with the gelding’s performance.

“He ran a terrific race last year and he over raced mid race last year,” Symons said.

“He’s a lot more relaxed and that made a difference today.”

Norsqui was paying odds of $26 to win the 2013 Adelaide Cup at are giving away a bonus bet worth up to $400 to all new customers who sign up with an account today and enter the promo code BONUSBET.

When using this exclusive promo code, will reward customers with a bonus bet that is equal to $100% of their initial deposit when they bank between $25 and $400 into their new account.

So sign up and start winning today!

2013 Adelaide Cup Race Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 4 NORSQUI Walter McShane Chris Symons 6 56kg $26
2 9 WARATONE Kylie Huxtable Dwayne Dunn 0.6L 8 54.5kg $15
3 8 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey Peter Mertens 2.2L 7 54.5kg $9.50
4 7 KUTCHINSKY Danny O’Brien Craig Williams 3.2L 9 55kg $5F
5 6 MACEDONIAN (NZ) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 3.2L 15 55.5kg $8.50
6 14 DISTILLATION William Smart Simon Price 3.8L 5 54kg $81
7 19 RED SHIFT (NZ) Pat Carey Darren Gauci 4.7L 20 54kg $14
8 18 HE’S HOT TO TROT Mick Whittle Ms Clare Lindop 5.5L 3 54kg $101
9 3 TALENT SHOW Graeme Ballantyne Jarrad Noske 6.3L 11 57kg $10
10 5 YOU THINK SO (NZ) Michael Kent Brad Rawiller 6.5L 18 56kg $8
11 13 LUCKY ANGEL Tony Vasil Brenton Avdulla 9.6L 1 54kg $15
12 1 TITCH (NZ) Kevin Myers Ms Linda Meech 10.5L 12 59kg $26
13 20 RILELILMAG Barbara Marshman Kerrin McEvoy 11.6L 13 54kg $201
14 16 READINGS David Hayes Paul Gatt 13.7L 2 54kg $26
15 11 ENCHANTING WATERS Michael Sell Craig Robertson 15.3L 14 54kg $71
16 10 MY EX MATE Peter F Blanch Dom Tourneur 15.8L 17 54kg $13
17 12 CLUB ROYALE Lee Creek Ms Holly McKechnie 16.8L 4 54kg $151
18 15 DUMOSA Barry Brook Ms Amy Herrmann 23.4L 10 54kg $151
19 17 BABY BOY Ron Daniel Jason Holder 30.4L 19 54kg $201
20 2 TUSCAN FIRE Dan O’Sullivan Glen Boss 53.9L 16 58.5kg $7

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field