Sydney Cup Winner Niwot Among Canberra Cup 2013 Nominations

Hawkes-trained veteran Niwot will take their next step towards a possible title defense in the prestigious Sydney Cup this weekend, the rising nine-year-old having been nominated for the 2013 Canberra Cup in the country’s capital for Thoroughbred Park’s Super Sunday.


Sydney Cup winner Niwot will contest the 2013 Canberra Cup this Sunday. Photo: Taron Clarke.

One of the biggest races run in Canberra each year, this season’s edition of the $200,000 Listed Canberra Centenary Cup (2000m) attracted 23 nominations including a number of famed interstate Group 1 performers.

The high quality of entries could help boost the Canberra Cup from a Listed race to Group 3 status, Thoroughbred Park’s chief executive Peter Stubbs thrilled with the quality of this year’s nominations.

“The standard of the Cup has improved in recent years, but to have nominations such as Maluckyday, Niwot … is certainly a pleasant surprise,” Stubbs said on Monday.

“Horses of that nature that have been racing at group and listed level and performing well, it certainly adds to the status for the Canberra Cup being considered for higher rating.”

Among the headline nominees Stubbs refereed to is Galileo eight-year-old Niwot, winner of the Group 1 Sydney Cup over the two miles at Randwick last Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

It was a stellar autumn for Niwot last year with other highlights including a fourth to Manighar in both the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes and The BMW at Rosehill.

Their spring however was a disappointing one that finished with a distant 15th to Green Moon in the iconic Melbourne Cup (3200m) on the first Tuesday of November.

They resumed off a three and a half month break on February 23 when sixth in the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) behind crack colt All Too Hard, one position further back then their resuming run in the same race 12 months earlier.

Sunday they will look to progress from that run when they venture into uncharted territory with their Canberra debut.

Team Hawkes have also nominated for another of their Melbourne Cup runners with Malukckyday, the Zabeel gelding 19th in the ‘race that stops a nation’ this year but runner-up to Americain back in 2010.

Maluckyday also resumed in the Futurity finishing one better than their stablemate when fifth.

Other notable interstate visitors nominated for the Canberra Cup 2013 then include the Gai Waterhouse-trained Fast Clip and Anthony Cummings’ former SA Derby winner Shadows In The Sun.

As for the local hopes the best chance of keeping the Cup in town looks to be Cup Preview winner Asclepius who vies for their third straight win.

Also coming via the Cup Preview over the mile on February 24 are runner-up Micalong, third placed Natch Catch and fourth place-getter Coliseo.

Stay up-to-date with all the latest Canberra Cup field updates by bookmarking us here at

Then when it comes to having a punt on the races this weekend make sure you bet with the best by signing up with

Remember too to quote the code BONUSBET when you first open an account with Australia’s No. 1 bookie to have your first deposit matched 100 percent as a bonus bet valued up to $400!

2013 Canberra Cup Nominations

Canberra Racecourse – 10/03/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AGENT BAUER Gwenda Markwell 72
2 AL AHMAR Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones 70
3 ASCLEPIUS Len Hodgson 76
4 AWARD SEASON (IRE) Kris Lees 76
5 COLISEO Norm Gardner
7 DUBAI RULER Mick J Smith 61
8 FAST CLIP Gai Waterhouse 100
9 FROZEN ROPE Adam Duggan
10 JIMMY FORTUNES Michael Clout
11 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
12 MICALONG Mick Miladinovic 74
13 NATCH CATCH Nick Olive 79
14 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
15 PALASPORT Gregory Hickman 86
16 PECK Peter Snowden 75
17 SANTA FE CHIEF Len Hodgson 56
18 SETTA ROCKS Diane Poidevin-Laine 69
19 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings
20 SIALIA MAGIC Neville Layt 54
21 SINDARIN Peter Snowden 78
22 STREET SPIRIT Mick J Smith 66
23 TREMEC (NZ) John P Thompson 69