Black Caviar Missing from 2013 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances

February 20, 2013

Black Caviar Missing from 2013 Newmarket Handicap First Acceptances

As expected speed queen Black Caviar will not contest the Newmarket Handicap 2013 next month with Peter Moody’s undefeated star missing from the 24 first acceptances taken for the Flemington feature this week.

Moment Of Change

Moment Of Change will represent Peter Moody in Black Caviar's absence this Newmarket Handicap. Photo: Steve Hart

Fresh off a record-breaking win in the Lightning Stakes, Black Caviar will bypass the $1 million Group 1 Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) on March 9 where she would have been allocated the 61kg topweight and will instead be saved for the $400,000 Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley a fortnight later.

While Black Caviar may be absent from the Newmarket Handicap first acceptances, cut from 65 at nomination stage, there are still plenty of talented sprinters on track for the lucrative Melbourne Festival of Racing classic.

Moody still has two hopefuls in the mix with former Magic Millions Classic winner Karuta Queen and the new Newmarket Handicap betting favourite Moment Of Change.

Barley A Moment four-year-old, winner of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes during the spring, resumed in the Lightning Stakes last Saturday and was a brave second behind their superlative stablemate.

One of the other key first acceptors is Jim Taylor’s undefeated WA raider Barakey who makes their Melbourne debut in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) at Caulfield this Saturday.

The Key Business five-year-old, last seen winning the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes back home at Ascot in November, arrived safely in Melbourne this week and is likely to jump favourite for the event as he vies for his 12th consecutive victory.

“He handled everything good as gold, it was like he’d done it before,” Taylor said.

Also on that flight was another Group 1 winning Perth champ, Luckygray, who is also on track for a shot at the Newmarket this autumn where a win would see them join other WA stars including Hay List (originally prepared by Jim Taylor), Scenic Blast, Placid Ark and Miss Andretti to win a big Melbourne sprint.

Two other lesser known Newmarket Handicap hopefuls also boast a flawless race record to date with the lightly-raced Last Day and fellow Oakleigh hopeful Shamal Wind.

Other top fancies among the remaining Newmarket Handicap entries then include the likes of Paul Messara’s internationally performing mare Ortensia who runs in the Oakleigh this weekend, Brisbane visitor Better Than Ready and fellow Queenslander Spirit Of Boom last seen running third to Barakey in the Winterbottom.

One person who believes this year’s Newmarket will be a thrilling edition even in the absence of the ‘Black Flash’ and last year’s winner Hay List is Racing Victoria’s senior handicapper Neil Jennings.

“Black Caviar won’t be there but the race is definitely shaping as another epic,” Jennings said.

“She (Black Caviar) bypassed the race last year and we were still treated to one of the most memorable Newmarket’s of all time when Hay List set a metric weight-carrying record to win.

“A number of Group 1 winners are set to contest the race and there is huge interest around the likes of Barakey, Ortensia and Luckygray as well as some of the younger up and comers.”

The Newmarket Handicap weights will be released by Jennings on Tuesday February 26 and published right here at

The 2013 Newmarket Handicap final field is then due for release on March 6 but you can get in on the ante-post betting action today when you sign up with bookmaker.

So don’t delay, join today and enjoy access to all the best autumn horse racing odds and futures markets!

2013 Newmarket Handicap First Declarations

Flemington Racecourse – 09/03/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AERONAUTICAL Lionel Cohen 87
2 ALTAR Peter Snowden 95
3 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith 107
4 AVOID LIGHTNING David Jolly 97
5 BARAKEY Jim P Taylor 107
6 BETTER THAN READY Kelly Schweida 88
7 BIG BUDDIE Andrew Sawden 82
8 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners 105
9 FACILE TIGRE Jason McLachlan 103
10 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings 100
11 KARUTA QUEEN Peter G Moody 99
12 LAST DAY (NZ) David Jolly 68
13 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon 106
14 LUCKYGRAY Gino Poletti 111
15 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 108
16 ORTENSIA Paul Messara 113
17 RIFLEMAN David Hayes 75
18 SATIN SHOES Clarry Conners 102
19 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon 88
20 SHAMEXPRESS (NZ) Danny O’Brien 85
22 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan 105
23 UNDENIABLY Mark Kavanagh 96
24 WOORIM Robert Heathcote 109

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field