2013 William Reid Stakes Nominations – Black Caviar Next Race?

February 18, 2013

2013 William Reid Stakes Nominations – Black Caviar Next Race?

Odds on where Black Caviar will go next race have firmed on the William Reid Stakes 2013 at Moonee Valley following her nomination for the Melbourne Festival of Racingfeature to run on Friday March 22.

Black Caviar

Superstar mare Black Caviar heads the 2013 William Reid Stakes nominations. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

A total of 34 sprinters make up the nominations for this year’s edition of the $400,000 Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1200m) which were taken by the Melbourne Racing Club (MRC) this week.

After a track record win in the Lightning Stakes first-up at Flemington over the weekend, Peter Moody’s $7 million earning mare Black Caviar will more than likely seek her 24th career win and 14th Group 1 triumph in the William Reid Stakes on Friday week, a race she won third-up two years ago.

Under the weight-for-age conditions of the William Reid the horse affectionately known around the stables as Nelly would be ideally positioned to extend her flawless race record.

Moody has also nominated for four of Black Caviar’s stablemates as he looks to repeat the winning trifecta result from the Lightning with former Magic Millions Classic winner Karuta Queen, reigning Stradbroke Handicap champion Mid Summer Music and his Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner Moment Of Change who was the eye-catching Lightning Stakes runner-up.

Along with Black Caviar the other undefeated sprinter in the William Reid Stakes mix this year is WA superstar Barakey.

Jim Taylor’s Key Business gelding, last seen posting their 11th win from as many starts in the Winterbottom Stakes back home, makes their interstate debut in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1400m) at Caulfield this Saturday which will go a long way in determining their William Reid Stakes potential.

Perth could be dually represented in the William Reid Stakes field too with the Gino Poletti-trained Luckygray also nominated.

A dual Group 1 winner back home, the Bradbury’s Luck five-year-old hasn’t raced since their Kingston Town Classic victory back in early December.

This Saturday’s Oakleigh Plate is likely to feature a number of genuine William Reid Stakes chances including globetrotting mare Ortensia, Stephen Brown’s last-start Australia Stakes winner Sea Lord, the lightly-raced but unbeaten Sham Wind and the Mark Kavanagh-trained Undeniably.

Among the other Group 1 winning nominees are 2011 The Galaxy winner Atomic Force, former Hong Kong hero Good Ba Ba, Doomben Cup – BTC Cup victor from last winter Sea Siren and the Gerald Ryan-trained Blue Diamond champ from last autumn Snitzerland.

See below for the full 2013 William Reid Stakes nominations with the final field due for release on March 15.

Our preferred online bookie bookmaker.com.au will be releasing their William Reid Stakes betting markets shortly so make sure you’re ready to back a winner at the best price with them by signing-up today.

Remember too to quote the code BONUSBET when you first join to enjoy a bonus welcome bet on the house valued up to a juicy $400!

2013 William Reid Stakes Nominations

Moonee Valley Racecourse – 22/03/2013

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AFRICAN PULSE Michael Moroney 93
2 AGUEDA Anthony Cummings 80
3 ATOMIC FORCE Darren Smith 107
4 BARAKEY Jim P Taylor 107
5 BLACK CAVIAR Peter G Moody 130
6 CHASE THE RAINBOW Rick Hore-Lacy 98
7 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings 100
8 FREERETURN Jason Warren 100
9 GOOD BA BA (USA) Rick Hore-Lacy 108
10 GREY MONARCH Ricardo Meunier 89
11 GYBE David Hayes 95
12 HALLOWELL BELLE Gai Waterhouse 108
13 HONEY FLOWER Ross McDonald 93
14 KARUTA QUEEN Peter G Moody 99
15 LADY MELKSHAM John Sadler 94
16 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price 78
17 LINTON John Sadler 107
18 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon 106
19 LUCKYGRAY Gino Poletti 111
20 MID SUMMER MUSIC Peter G Moody 110
21 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 108
22 ORTENSIA Paul Messara 113
23 PLATELET Darren Weir 100
24 READY TO RIP Peter G Moody 102
25 RIFLEMAN David Hayes 75
26 SEA LORD Stephen Brown 104
27 SEA SIREN John O’Shea 114
28 SECOND EFFORT Clinton McDonald 104
29 SHAMAL WIND Robert Smerdon 89
30 SHAMEXPRESS (NZ) Danny O’Brien 85
31 SHE’S A FOX Anthony Cummings 82
32 SNITZERLAND Gerald Ryan 102
33 SPIRIT OF BOOM Tony Gollan 105
34 UNDENIABLY Mark Kavanagh 96

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field