63 The BMW 2013 Nominations Include Pierro

February 6, 2013

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

63 The BMW 2013 Nominations Include Pierro

Gai Waterhouse indicated she is keeping her options wide open with top colt Pierro when he was yesterday announced as one of 63 entrants for the $2.25 million Group 1 2013 BMW (2400m) at Rosehill on April 6.


Pierro is one of 63 nominations for the BMW

The two-year-old triple crown winner’s longest trip to date was 2040m when he finished third in the Cox Plate in October.

While being stretched to 2400m remains a possibility for Pierro, the horse who ended his unbeaten reign in the Caulfield Guineas, All Too Hard, was not nominated.

Pierro is one of 12 gallopers from Waterhouse’s stable to be nominated with fellow three-year-olds Proisir and Indianapolis joining the stable star.

Other key Waterhouse-trained entrants include Melbourne Cup runner-up Fiorente and Group 1 winner Glencadam Gold.

Leading Victorian trainer Peter Moody has nominated star import Manighar who took out the event last year.

The BMW was one of three Group 1s the former French galloper won during a stunning autumn campaign.

Another strong entrant from the Moody stable is four-year-old Vatuvei who won the Group 2 Moonee Valley Gold Cup during the spring.

As is standard with Australian staying races, there is no shortage of quality imports included in nominations and one of the big guns is Puissance De Lune.

The Darren Weir-trained entire is favourite to win the 2013 Melbourne Cup after some outstanding late spring performances.

A son of Shamardal, the five-year-old won the Bendigo Cup by eight lengths before heading to the city to take out the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes by five lengths.

Chris Waller’s recent stable addition Gatewood also represents the imports.

The OTI-owned entire stepped out on Australian soil under John Gosden last year and won the Group 3 Geelong Cup.

Other notable BMW entrants include New Zealand colt It’s A Dundeel, Sydney Cup winner Niwot, Queensland Oaks winner Quintessential and Melbourne Cup fourth Kelinni.

To make the most your betting this autumn, visit bookmaker.com.au who offer sensational odds on all the top racing action and have a huge $400 bonus bet offer for new customers!

The BMW 2013 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 ALIYANA TILDE Kerry Parker
2 ANGOLA Pat Carey
4 DARDANOS (NZ) Nigel Blackiston
5 DURNFORD Pat Carey
6 EXCLUDED (NZ) Robert Hickmott
7 FIORENTE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse
9 FLASHY FELLA (NZ) Michael Moroney
10 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller
11 GALIANDO (GB) Gai Waterhouse
12 GATEWOOD (GB) Chris Waller
13 GLASS HARMONIUM (IRE) Michael Moroney
14 GLENCADAM GOLD (IRE) Gai Waterhouse
15 HATHRAS (GB) Kris Lees
16 HULA LUA (NZ) Michael Kent
17 HURDY GURDY MAN Darren Weir
18 INDIANAPOLIS Gai Waterhouse
19 IT’S A DUNDEEL (NZ) Murray Baker
20 JULIENAS (IRE) Gai Waterhouse
21 KELINNI (IRE) Chris Waller
22 KUTCHINSKY Danny O’Brien
23 LASER HAWK Gai Waterhouse
24 LE ROI (GER) Tony McEvoy
25 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
26 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody
27 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman
28 MISS ARTISTIC (NZ) Shaune Ritchie
29 MONSIEUR JOHN Jason Deamer
30 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
31 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis
32 MR MOET Adam Durrant
33 MUTUAL TRUST (GB) Sam Pritchard-Gordon
34 NICONOISE David Hayes
35 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
36 PIERRO Gai Waterhouse
37 PIRATE BAY (GB) Kris Lees
38 PRACTICED Robert Hickmott
39 PRAIRIE STAR (FR) Danny O’Brien
40 PRINCE CHERI (FR) David Vandyke
41 PROISIR Gai Waterhouse
44 RAWNAQ David Hayes
45 RED EYE SPECIAL (NZ) Michael Moroney
46 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
47 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings
48 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings
49 SHOOTOFF (NZ) Graeme & Debbie Rogerson
51 SOLEMN Peter Snowden
52 SPURTONIC Gai Waterhouse
53 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
54 TAC DE BOISTRON (FR) Michael Kent
55 TANBY Robert Hickmott
56 TATRA Peter Snowden
57 THY (NZ) Peter G Moody
58 TRAVOLTA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
59 UNDER THE SUN (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
60 VATUVEI Peter G Moody
61 WHY NOT (GER) David Hayes
62 ZABISCO (NZ) Michael Moroney
63 ZURELLA (NZ) Shaune Ritchie

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Super Cash Chases Robert Sangs...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Sing...

Gosford Cup 2018 Betting: Singing Firming Favourite

Newcastle horseman Kris Lees saddles-up two stayers in Thursday’s feature race...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second...

2018 Newmarket Handicap Second-Up for Merchant Navy

Coolmore Stud Stakes winning colt Merchant Navy will take on the older...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes F...

2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes First-Up for Mighty Boss

Mick Price’s shock Caulfield Guineas winner Mighty Boss will chase the 2018...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Qu...

Royal Ascot Option for 2018 Queen Elizabeth Stakes Bound Winx

The world’s best mare Winx will be “on the plane” to England for a Royal Ascot...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field