Northern Raiders Included in 2013 Hobart Cup Nominations

January 30, 2013

Northern Raiders Included in 2013 Hobart Cup Nominations

The Tasmanian locals will have to ward off some tough competition in their feature race this year with a number of interstate challengers set to make the trip south for the Group 3 2013 Hobart Cup (2400m) on February 10.

Reuben Percival

Reuben Percival is one of the top nominations for the Hobart Cup

Thirty five horses have been nominated for Tasmania’s biggest race including runners from the stables of top trainers Peter Moody, Chris Waller, Gai Waterhouse, Gerald Ryan and Anthony Cummings.

Waterhouse has entered three of her charges including tough stayers Reuben Percival and Kinnersley.

The ultra-consistent Reuben Percival has placed twice from two starts at stakes level since resuming in the Gosford Cup while Kinnersley was last seen winning the Magic Millions Stayers Cup at the Gold Coast by 1 1/2 lengths on January 12.

Anthony Cummings has nominated two gallopers with Shadows In The Sun and Fortunefivehundred.

While Fortunefivehundred has been disappointing in two starts this campaign, Shadows In The Sun is coming off a dominant 2 1/2 length start-to-finish walloping of his rivals in the Listed Australia Day Cup (2400m).

A Group 1 winner as a three-year-old, the five-year-old broke a near two-year drought, showing a clear appreciation for the extra distance on offer in his first 2400m journey since winter 2011.

Peter Moody’s in-form galloper Elusive King has finished in the top three in his three most recent outings and is also nominated for Saturday’s Mornington Cup Prelude at Caulfield.

Of the locals, Mick Burles has entered five-year-old gelding The Cleaner who has been successful in his past four outings.

Geegees Blackflash is expected to return to defend his title and is joined in nominations by stablemates Gee Gee’s Beauty and Gee Gee’s Boss.

Others included in Hobart Cup nominations are Gerald Ryan-trained veteran Ironstein, Chris Waller’s import Marden and Michael Kent-trained pair You Think So and Backbone.

No matter where the racing is taking place across the country you can be sure there are great odds available at

Sign up today to be rewarded with a huge $400 bonus bet offer simply by quoting the BONUSBET when joining.

Hobart Cup 2013 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BACKBONE Michael Kent 82
2 BREHAT (GB) Anthony Freedman 82
3 DREAM PEDLAR Troy Blacker 97
4 ELUSIVE KING Peter G Moody 89
5 FIELDMASTER (NZ) Patrick Payne 94
6 FLASHY FELLA (NZ) Michael Moroney 85
7 FORTUNEFIVEHUNDRED Anthony Cummings 70
8 GEE GEES BEAUTY John Luttrell 61
9 GEE GEE’S BOSS John Luttrell 70
10 GEEGEES BLACKFLASH John Luttrell 103
11 GEEJAYHAITCH Walter McShane 78
12 HURDY GURDY MAN Darren Weir 91
13 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 99
14 KEEP COOL (NZ) Danny O’Brien 94
15 KENJORWOOD Darren Kenny 72
16 KINNERSLEY Gai Waterhouse 102
17 KUTCHINSKY Danny O’Brien 88
18 LUCKY ANGEL Tony Vasil 84
19 MARDEN (IRE) Chris Waller 82
20 NORSQUI Walter McShane 96
21 NORTH LODGE Chris Crook 78
22 PELICANO Tony McEvoy 95
23 POWER BROKER (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 75
24 PREVAILING David & Scott Brunton 94
25 READINGS David Hayes 80
26 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 102
27 ROCK ROBSTER David Hayes 78
28 SHADOWS IN THE SUN Anthony Cummings 100
29 SKIP TO THE MOON Rhonda Hall 67
30 SUCCESS DOSTTA David & Scott Brunton 84
31 TESTA JESTA John Luttrell 70
32 THE CLEANER Mick Burles 99
33 TRAVOLTA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 96
34 WESTSOUTHWEST (NZ) Robert Smerdon 87
35 YOU THINK SO (NZ) Michael Kent 93

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

McDonald to team up with Care ...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field