Chester Manifold Stakes 2013 Nominations Released

Nineteen horses have been entered to contest the Listed $120,000 2013 Chester Manifold Stakes (1400m) which is the feature race on the Flemington program this Saturday.

Included in nominations is Darren Weir-trained gelding Lord Of Brazil who boasts an excellent winning strike rate of 43 per cent with nine victories from 21 starts.

The six-year-old son of Lord Of Warriors has been in solid form, finishing third in his most recent start which was preceded by back-to-back victories.

Joining the Ballarat-based galloper in nominations are Tony Vasil-trained pair Veewap and Under The Eiffel who would be familiar to the average weekend punter.

Seven-year-old Veewap is coming off a sixth-place finish in the Listed Christmas Stakes at Caulfield but showed his ability to match it at black-type level in the spring when third in the Weekend Hussler Stakes.

Under The Eiffel is a Group 3 winner but will have to break a long drought if he is to be successful this weekend, having not won since November 2011.

Out to back up a solid performance is Gold Sand who was beaten by just a length when fourth in the Christmas Stakes on Boxing Day.

Chasing a second straight win is Kane Harris-trained gelding Future Solution who stormed home to claim the Spotless Plate at Flemington on December 22.

The Mornington-based galloper appears well suited to the Chester Manifold distance, having recorded two of of his six career wins over the trip.

Others contesting the Chester Manifold Stakes include Cosmic Causeway, the Darley-owned Giresun, Michael Kent’s Sadalbari and Adelaide galloper Just Discreet.

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BIG BUDDIE Andrew Sawden 82
2 BOOM ā€™Nā€™ ZOOM Ken Keys 92
3 BRITISH GENERAL Dan O’Sullivan 87
4 BUDRIGUEZ David Jolly 94
5 BY THE WAY Mark Lewis 90
6 COSMIC CAUSEWAY Peter G Moody 89
7 DASH FOR VIZ Robbie Griffiths 81
8 FUTURE SOLUTION Kane Harris 89
9 GIRESUN Peter Snowden 82
10 GOLD SAND Lee & Shannon Hope 91
11 JUST DISCREET Phillip Stokes 78
12 LASPIEL Stuart Webb 82
13 LORD OF BRAZIL (NZ) Darren Weir 99
14 ORBIT EXPRESS Steve McKinnon 94
15 PRINCE OBAMA Jason Clifford 84
16 ROCKPECKER Ken Fythe 95
17 SADALBARI Michael Kent 87
18 UNDER THE EIFFEL Tony Vasil 95
19 VEEWAP Tony Vasil 97