Melbourne Cup 2012 Final Thoughts

The 2012 Melbourne Cup is just over fifteen minutes away. Below are our final thoughts heading into the race:

#1 – Dunaden – Champion stayer that is good enough to break the Melbourne Cup metric weight carrying record.

#2 – Americain – Could join Peter Pan as the only horse to win the Melbourne Cup twice in non-consecutive years.

#3 – Jakkalberry – Will need to improve on his mediocre Caulfield Cup effort.

#4 – Red Cadeaux – Deserves to go one better in 2012.

#5 – Winchester – Could make a late charge but probably won’t be a factor.

#6 – Voila Ici – We be the leader at some stage.

#7 – Cavalryman – Could fly under the radar and surprise.

#8 – Mount Athos – Has been well backed and appears weighted to win the race.

# 9 – Sanagas – Can never rule out a Bart Cummings-trained stayer.

#10 – Ethiopia – Best Australian chance.

#11 – Fiorente – Can cause a boil over if he performs at his best.

#12 – Galileo’s Choice – Would have preferred it to rain.

#13-  Glencadam Gold – Would need to improve significantly.

#14 – Green Moon – Can bounce back from average Cox Plate performance.

#15 – Maluckyday – Will be strong late but will he be close enough?

#16 – Mourayan – Honest stayer who will try his heart out.

#17 – My Quest For Peace – Might upset more fancied stablemate.

#18 – Niwot – Can’t see him improving on last year’s effort.

#19 – Tac De Boistron – Not on the same level as other European stayers.

#20 – Lights of Heaven – Only mare in the race is a live chance

#21 – Precedence – Even with the Bart factor it would be a surprise.

#22 – Unusual Suspect – Would be biggest boil over in Melbourne Cup history.

#23 – Zabeelionaire – Should finish in the top ten but probably can’t win.

#24 – Kelinni – Gets in with a good weight.

You can place all your Melbourne Cup 2012 bets at

Quote the code BONUSBET when making your first deposit to receive a welcome bet worth up to $400 that you can use to back the winner in the 2012 Melbourne Cup.

Sign-up at today and claim the $400 welcome bet in time for the running of the 2012 Melbourne Cup.