Jockeys Aim For Further Glory in 2012 Melbourne Cup

November 6, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Jockeys Aim For Further Glory in 2012 Melbourne Cup

A Melbourne Cup victory can define the career of a jockey and one lucky rider will add his name to the history books today.

Some jockeys, like Rhys Mcleod who will ride Ethiopia, are making their Melbourne Cup debut while Jim Cassidy has been riding in the race for almost thirty years.

Only six of the twenty-four jockeys riding in this year’s Melbourne Cup have tasted success in the race previously.

Glen Boss is the most successful jockey, still riding, in the Melbourne Cup having ridden Makybe Diva to victory in the great race on three occasions.

Boss produced three gems on the great mare and his big race experience is sure to add to the chances of his mount Kelinni.

It has been ten years since Damien Oliver scored his emotional victory on Media Puzzle in the 2002 Melbourne Cup.

The jockey is currently embroiled in an off-the-track scandal but doesn’t appear to have let the controversy affect his riding and he would dearly love to win his third Melbourne Cup in tribute to his brother.

Michael Rodd went desperately close to winning the Melbourne Cup on Red Cadeaux last year and is confident that he can go one better in 2012.

The former Queensland apprentice produced a cracking ride when he won the Cup on Efficient in 2007.

Corey Brown is another jockey who has lost a Melbourne Cup by the narrowest of margins.

He rode Bauer in the 2008 Melbourne Cup, who was beaten in a photo finish by Bart Cummings-trained Viewed, but won the next year on Shocking.

Brown will be hoping he can add to his Melbourne Cup collection on My Quest For Peace in 2012.

Blake Shinn has had a quiet year, since retuning for suspension, and will be desperate to ride another Melbourne Cup winner for Cup Kings Bart Cummings.

Shinn rides Precedence in this year’s Cup and will wear the same colours as he did when he won the Cup on Viewed in 2008.

Jim Cassidy has been riding at the highest level for an incredible thirty years and first won the Melbourne Cup on Kiwi in 1983.

The popular jockey won the 1997 Melbourne Cup on Might and Power and will wear the same colours  when riding Maluckyday today.

You can follow all our coverage of the 2012 Melbourne Cup and find the best bet in the feature race.

Sign-up at and quote the code BONUSBET when making your first deposit to receive a free welcome bet worth up to $400.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field