Melbourne Cup Jockeys 2012 Statistics & Facts

While punters are going crazy over the 24 Melbourne Cup horses in Tuesday’s big race it is important to also consider the form on the 2012 Melbourne Cup jockeys that will be aboard the hopeful stayers in Flemington Race 7.


Americain is one of six horses in the 2012 Melbourne Cup field to be ridden by a former Melbourne Cup winning jockey

Over the 152-year history of the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) the masterful hoops that have guided the Melbourne Cup winners to victory have captured the imagination of the racing public almost as much as the horses themselves.

While it takes a champion horse to win a Melbourne Cup, no horse can win the ‘race that stops a nation’ without the right jockey in the saddle.

Below we take a look at some historical Melbourne Cup jockey facts and statistics and then go over the Melbourne Cup jockeys for 2012 to see if you can’t uncover a winning chance in the world’s richest handicap.

Melbourne Cup Jockey Facts & Stats

  • Two jockeys hold the record of most Melbourne Cup wins with Bobby Lewis (The Victory 1902, Patrobas 1915, Artilleryman 1919, Trivalve 1927) and Harry White (Think Big 1974 and 1975, Arwon 1978, Hyperno 1979); Lewis won four from 33 and also finished up runner-up four times and third with Phar Lap in 1929
  • The past two Melbourne Cup winners were ridden by an international jockey with Americain (Gerald Mosse, 2010) and Dunaden (Christoph Lemaire)
  • There are five horses in 2012 that will be ridden by an overseas-based jockey with #3 Jakkalberry (Colm O’Donoghue), #7 Cavarlyman (Frankie Dettori), #12 Galileo’s Choice (Patrick Smullen), #19 Tac De Boistron (Olivier Doleuze) and #14 Green Moon who will be ridden by Aussie expat Brett Prebble
  • Craig Williams missed the ride on last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Duanden due to suspension but has the ride on the $7.50 second favourite this year as he looks to score his first win in the classic

Horses in the 2012 Melbourne Cup field to be ridden by a former Melbourne Cup winning jockey are then:

  • #2 Americain ($6.50) – Damien Oliver with Media Puzzle (2002), Doriemus (1995)
  • #4 Red Cadeaux (bmcup text=”$9.50″]) – Michael Rodd with Efficient (2007)
  • #15 Maluckyday ($14) – Jim Cassidy with Might And Power (1997), Kiwi (1983)
  • #17 My Quest For Peace ($17) – Corey Brown with Shocking (2009)
  • #21 Precedence ($101) – Blake Shinn with Viewed (2008)
  • #24 Kelinni ($21) – Glen Boss with Makybe Diva (2003, 2004, 2005)

Whether you are basing your Melbourne Cup 2012 tips on the horses, the jockeys, the barriers or another form indicator make sure you lock in your selections at the best prices online with – home of the Pick Your Own Melbourne Cup Odds!