Crown Oaks 2012 Final Field Headed by Zydeco

November 5, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Crown Oaks 2012 Final Field Headed by Zydeco

All the excitement at the moment is about the 2012 Melbourne Cup but quality racing goes on all week with Thursday’s highlight being the Group 1 2012 Crown Oaks (2500m).

The best staying fillies in the country will line up to contest the $1 million event which features a quality 16-horse field.

Heading the group of emerging stars is the Anthony Freedman-trained Zydeco who cemented herself as Oaks favourite with a dominant Wakeful Stakes win on the weekend.

The daughter of Zabeel showed her staying ability when ridden quietly by Kerrin McEvoy before exploding down the outside to beat home her rivals by two lengths.

McEvoy was quick to endorse the emerging stayer as an Oaks contender following the win on Saturday.

“I was able just to get back and relax. When I got to the outside she really picked up and had a trouble free run,” McEvoy said.

“It’s good signs going into next week over 2500m in the Oaks.

“Hopefully we can do the same next Thursday.”

Oaks minor placegetters Maraatib and Transonic will be out turn the tables on Zydeco in Thursday’s feature race.

David Hayes-trained filly Maraatib is still a maiden but has improved with each step up in distance and has finished in the top three in her past four starts.

Transonic has also been a consistent performer, having finished in the top three in her eight most recent starts.

Dear Demi was considered the most capable of upsetting Zydeco prior to the Wakeful but suffered no luck in running and was blocked for a run on a number of occasions on her way to fourth place.

The consistent filly won at Group 2 level in the Furious Stakes earlier in the spring and is likely to be among the top contenders on Thursday.

Others in the Oaks field include New Zealand filly Kate, Guy Walter’s Zucotto and the lightly-raced Summerbliss.

To back a winner at great odds on any race this spring, visit the preferred bookie –

Quote the code BONUSBET when joining to give yourself a betting edge with the Australian-owned bookies $400 bonus bet offer!

Crown Oaks 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 212×314324 DEAR DEMI Clarry Conners Jim Cassidy 12 55.5kg 95
2 61531 ZYDECO Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 7 55.5kg 93
3 170×34406 MAMA’S CHOICE David Hayes Damien Oliver 2 55.5kg 72
4 4x438x3401 ALZORA David Hayes Nicholas Hall 5 55.5kg 74
5 7522231133 TRANSONIC John P Thompson Mark Zahra 6 55.5kg 72
6 235×252322 MARAATIB David Hayes Michael Walker 3 55.5kg 72
7 58542164 IRELAND’S TEARDROP Anthony Cummings Vlad Duric 13 55.5kg 64
8 12 SUMMERBLISS Michael Kent Craig Williams 1 55.5kg 70
9 370×116085 KATE (NZ) Wayne Hillis James McDonald 14 55.5kg 66
10 3×586110 TYANNA Robbie Griffiths Michael Rodd 11 55.5kg 66
11 1507 LA ZUMA Michael Moroney Corey Brown 9 55.5kg 62
12 9×6159 ZUCCOTTO Guy Walter Hugh Bowman 4 55.5kg 61
13 50×6190 TEN BLACK Matthew Hyland Luke Nolen 10 55.5kg 62
14 0x75395 GONDOKORO (NZ) Pat Carey Rhys McLeod 8 55.5kg 61
15 502 FINNEGAN BEGINEGAN Paul Banks Craig Newitt 15 55.5kg 58

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field