2012 Melbourne Cup Trainers Guide

November 5, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2012 Melbourne Cup Trainers Guide

The 2012 Melbourne Cup will feature horses prepared by some of the world’s leading trainers.

Bart Cummings is easily the most successful trainer in Melbourne Cup history.

It takes a devoted trainer to get a horse fit and ready for a race as grueling as the Melbourne Cup and some trainers have proven better at it than others.

Veteran trainer Bart Cummings has tasted success in the Melbourne Cup more times than you can count with your fingers while leading Victoria trainer Peter Moody has never had a horse finish in the top ten.

There will be seventeen trainers saddling up runners for the 2012 Melbourne Cup and we will analyse these trainers’ previous efforts in the race that stops the nation.

2012 Melbourne Cup Trainers Records

Mikel Delzangles#1 Dunaden

Delzangles currently has a perfect record in the Melbourne Cup having only prepared Dunaden who won last year.

Alain de Royer Dupre#2 Americain

The leading French trainer won the Melbourne Cup at his first attempt in 2010 and was unlucky not to go back to back last year.

Marco Botti#3 Jakkalberry

Jakkalberry will be the Italian-born trainers first Melbourne Cup runner.

Ed Dunlop #4 Red Cadeaux

The English trainer went desperately close to winning at his first attempt at the Melbourne Cup last year when Red Cadeaux finished a nostril behind Dunaden.

John Sadler#5 Winchester

Sadler trained C’est La Guerre who finished third behind Viewed in the 2008 Melbourne Cup.  He also prepared popular galloper Zipping who finished an unlucky ninth in the same race.

Peter Moody#6 Viola Ici and #20 Lights of Heaven

The Melbourne Cup has not produced many happy memories for Peter Moody. He hasn’t had a runner in the race since Vouvray who finished fifteenth behind the great Makybe Diva in 2005.

Saeed Bin Suroor#7 Cavalryman

The Godolphin trainer has come close on several occasions but is yet to win the Melbourne Cup. He has trained the runner-up on three occasions – Crime Scene (2009), Give the Slip (2001) and Central Park (1999) but has also had a number of high profile Melbourne Cup flops.

Luca Cumani #8 Mount Athos and #17 My Quest For Peace

The ace trainer is another European who has gone close without winning the famous race. He trained the runner-up in back-to-back years – Bauer in 2008 and Purple Moon in 2007.

Bart Cummings#9 Sanagas and #21 Precedence

The most famous trainer in the history of the Melbourne Cup has trained the winner an incredible twelve times. He has also produced the quinella on five occasions. His last winner was Viewed in 2008.

Pat Carey#10 Ethiopia

Ethiopia will be the Mornington trainer’s first Melbourne Cup runner.

Gai Waterhouse#11 Fiorente and #13 Glencadam Gold

The Melbourne Cup is one of the few major races Waterhouse has never won. She has trained the runner-up on two occasions – Tea Akau Nick who almost stole the race at long odds in 1993 and brave three-year-old Nothin’ Leica Dane who backed up from the Victoria Derby and was narrowly defeated by Doriemus in 1995.

Dermot Weld#12 Galileo’s Choice

Weld is the only European trainer that has won the Melbourne Cup on multiple occasions. He opened the door to European trainers by winning with Vintage Crop in 1993 and confirmed his reputation as a legendary trainer by winning with Media Puzzle in 2002.

Robert Hickmott#14 Green Moon

Hickmott has had two Melbourne Cup runners since becoming the exclusive trainer for Lloyd Williams. Zipping and Linton finished fourth and twenty-second respectively in the 2010 Cup.

Team Hawkes#15 Maluckyday and #18 Niwot

The Melbourne Cup is one race that has eluded John Hawkes. He went closest with Maluckyday who finished second behind Americain in 2010.

Michael Kent#19 Tac De Boistron and #22 Unusual Suspect

Kent hasn’t prepared many Melbourne Cup runners and will be hoping that Unusual Suspect can improve on his ninth in last year’s Cup.

Leon Corstens #23 Zabeelionaire

Zabeelionaire will be Corstens first Melbourne Cup runner but the local trainer spent a number years as the stable foreman for Bart Cummings and had a hand in preparing several of Cummings’ Melbourne Cup winners.

Chris Waller#24 Kelinni

The leading New South Wales trainer hasn’t had much luck in the Melbourne Cup. His best result was with The Verminator who finished thirteenth in last year’s race.

You can back the Melbourne Cup horse prepared by your favourite trainer at bookmaker.com.au.

Quote the code BONUSBET when making your first deposit to receive a welcome bet worth up to $400 that you can use to back the winner in the 2012 Melbourne Cup.

Sign-up at bookmaker.com.au today and claim the $400 welcome bet instantly!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field