2012 Melbourne Cup Field & Barrier Draw

November 2, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2012 Melbourne Cup Field & Barrier Draw

The countdown is well and truly on until Flemington Racecourse comes to life with the ‘race that stops a nation’, the 2012 Melbourne Cup field, barrier draw and jockeys due for release on Victoria Derby Day, Saturday November 3.

2012 Melbourne Cup Field, Barriers & Jockeys

Victoria Derby Day – 03/11/2012

  • Melbourne Cup Final Acceptances close at 4:30pm (AEST)
  • Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw takes place live from Flemington from 6:30pm (AEST)
  • Melbourne Cup Jockeys to be declared by 7:00pm (AEST)
  • Melbourne Cup Odds updated and released soon after at bookmaker.com.au

Unlucky for some! Dunaden won the 2011 Melbourne Cup from Barrier 13

Australia’s pinnacle race, and to many the best thoroughbred showdown run anywhere in the world, the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) is scheduled as Flemington Race 7 on Tuesday November 6, 2012.

There are still officially 46 horses entered for the world’s richest handicap but those entries will be cut to the final 24-horse 2012 Melbourne Cup field just before the Derby Day races finish up for another year.

Melbourne Cup final acceptances close on Saturday at 4:30pm (AEST) after the final two races offering the winner a Melbourne Cup ballot exemption are run and won – the $250,000 Group 3 Lexus Stakes (2500m) and the $1 million Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) scheduled as races 2 and 5.

Shortly after the Melbourne Cup acceptances are taken by Racing Victoria the field will be released to the public with Races.com.au one of the first to publish the list of hopefuls heading towards classic.

Just as important as the release of the Melbourne Cup field is then the Melbourne Cup barrier draw 2012 which is also due to take place on Derby Day.

There will be live coverage from Flemington Racecourse after the day’s racing commencing at 6:30pm (AEST) with connections of the Melbourne Cup horses selected at random to pick the gate their gallopers will start from.

Melbourne Cup Barrier Stats

  • Barrier 18 has never produced a Melbourne Cup winner (since barriers were introduced in 1924) – no connection will want to pull this one out at the 2012 Melbourne Cup barrier draw
  • The most successful barriers in the modern era meanwhile have been Barrier 11 (7 wins), Barriers 5/10/14 (6 wins), Barriers 6/8/19 (5 wins) and Barriers 1/4/17/22 (4 wins)
  • Barriers 9 – 12 have been the most successful in recent years with four victories in the past 11 years
  • Nine of the past 12 Melbourne Cup winners have jumped from just four different gates with Barrier 14 (3 wins), Barrier 10 (2 wins), Barrier 13 (2 wins) and Barrier 22 (2 wins)
  • Barrier 13 – the gate last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Duanden jumped from, can they draw it again in 2012?
  • Barrier 11Americain jumped from this barrier for their 2010 win, they drew gate 14 last year when fourth to Duanden – what gate will they get for their third straight run in the Cup?

Following the Melbourne Cup 2012 barrier draw connections will then have to declare their Melbourne Cup jockeys by 7:00pm (AEST).

Soon after the official make-up of the Melbourne Cup field is known and the gates are drawn our preferred online bookie bookmaker.com.au will release their updated Melbourne Cup betting odds.

Current, pre-field Melbourne Cup odds are led by 2010 winner Americain ($6) and the defending champ Dunaden ($7) with English raider Mount Athos ($8.50) yet to race down under the only other single-figure chance.

Bookmaker us here at Races.com.au and stay tuned throughout Victoria Derby Day for all the latest Melbourne Cup 2012 field and betting updates.

In the meantime make sure you also open your bookmaker.com.au account so you have access to the premium Melbourne Cup odds for 2012.

Even better, back the Melbourne Cup winner for free with bookmaker.com.au’s $400 bonus welcome bet offer – bookmaker.com.au

Former Melbourne Cup Winners & Barriers

Year Winner Barrier
2011 Dunaden 13
2010 Americain 11
2009 Shocking 21
2008 Viewed 8
2007 Efficient 9
2006 Delta Blues 10
2005 Makybe Diva 14
2004 Makybe Diva 7
2003 Makybe Diva 14
2002 Media Puzzle 3
2001 Ethereal 11
2000 Brew 22
1999 Rogan Josh 21
1998 Jezabeel 16
1997 Might And Power 2
1996 Saintly 3
1995 Doriemus 21
1994 Jeune 9
1993 Vintage Crop 5
1992 Subzero 14
1991 Let’s Elope 10
1990 Kingston Rule 1
1989 Tawrrific 11

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field