Herald Sun Stakes 2012 Nominations Announced

October 31, 2012

Herald Sun Stakes 2012 Nominations Announced

Nominations have been released ahead of the Group 3 2012 Herald Sun Stakes (1400m) which will take place as part of a sensational 2012 Melbourne Cup Day card at Flemington on Tuesday.

Miss Stellabelle

Miss Stellabelle is one of the top nominations for the Herald Sun Stakes at Flemington on Tuesday

Forty four horses have been included in nominations for the $200,000 mares’ event but who exactly will line up is unclear with a number of entrants set to run this weekend.

Some of the top nominations who are due to race this weekend are Group 1 winner Mid Summer Music and Colin Little-trained mare Soft Sand.

One mare who had high hopes heading into the spring but has so far failed to make an impact is Gai’s Choice.

The five-year-old was outstanding during the winter with three wins backed up by a third-place finish in the Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara at Eagle Farm but has so far been beaten five lengths in both her spring outings.

Gai Waterhouse has not had much luck in Melbourne this spring but she is set to have one of the top chances in the Herald Sun Stakes with Miss Stellabelle showing impressive lead-up form.

The four-year-old finished third to Mosheen in the Blazer Stakes and was again solid in the Tristarc Stakes when she finished fourth behind three of the top chances in Saturday’s Group 1 Myer Classic.

Top Sydney trainer Chris Waller has entered one runner, with Dystopia having due to have her third start of a spring campaign that began with success in Sydney.

The six-year-old won the Listed Toy Show Quality (1300m) fist-up before finishing third in the Group 2 Theo Marks Sprint (1400m).

Other horses nominated for the Herald Sun Stakes include Darley pair Aerobatics and Detours, Queensland mare Whateverwhenever who won the Group 3 Moonga Stakes earlier this month, John Hickmott’s Classy Chloe and the Russell Cameron-trained Ametsis.

Got an early Melbourne Cup winner picked? Get great odds by betting at bookmaker.com.au.

Home of the $400 bonus bet offer bookmaker.com.au is fully Australian owned and has a wide range of products and markets available to suit your spring betting needs.

Herald Sun Stakes 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AEROBATICS Peter Snowden 92
2 AMETSIS Russell Cameron 68
3 ANETO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 67
4 ANGEL OF MERCY Gerald Ryan 93
5 APPEARANCE Guy Walter 94
7 BARBIE DAZZLER Louise Bonella 74
8 BONARIA Pat Hyland 84
9 CABERNET Matthew Smith 93
10 CITY OF SONG John Moloney 76
11 CLASSY CHLOE John Hickmott 92
12 CRUCIAL Anthony Freedman 87
13 DETOURS Peter Snowden 95
14 DYSTOPIA Chris Waller 103
15 ELFINA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 64
16 EVER THE SAME Anthony Cummings 90
17 FERGUSON John Sadler 67
18 FOREVER HERE Matthew Williams 74
19 GAI’S CHOICE David Pfieffer 94
20 JUST DISCREET Phillip Stokes 76
21 KASMAHER David Brideoake & David Feek 67
22 KOONOOMOO Simon Vercoe 84
23 MABSAM David Hayes 72
24 MID SUMMER MUSIC Peter G Moody 110
25 MISS STELLABELLE Gai Waterhouse 98
26 MOSSE DIVA David Hayes 79
27 NEW BEGINNING John P Thompson 86
28 OUR MIMI Lloyd Kennewell 71
29 POTIONS John P Thompson 80
30 RAHVEEL Leon Corstens 78
31 ROSE OF PEACE Gary Portelli 92
32 ROSE PATTERN David Hayes 68
33 SHEILA’S STAR Mick Price 90
34 SHIHABI Peter G Moody 82
35 SIMPLY PUT Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 88
36 SOFT SAND Colin Little 89
37 SOPHIE’S SPIRIT Max Hinton 94
38 SPOT ON MAGGIE (NZ) Pat Carey 72
39 STEPS IN TIME John O’Shea 107
40 TIGRESS JOY Darren Weir 76
41 TRANQUERA Robbie Griffiths 72
42 TWILIGHTING Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 89
43 VINTAGE TRIUMPH David Hayes 70
44 WHATEVERWHENEVER Liam Birchley 98

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field