Latest 2012 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry

The race is now officially on to occupy one of those coveted top 24 spots in the 2012 Melbourne Cup ballot after second declarations and the latest order of entry for the famous Flemington feature were released on Monday.


Reigning Melbourne Cup winner Dunaden is the only horse exempt from ballot for this year's race

Forty-six stayers are still in the running for this year’s edition of the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m), due to run as Flemington Race 7 on Tuesday November 6, with a number of notable hopefuls still outside the ‘safety zone’.

The past two Melbourne Cup winners Dunaden (2011) and Americain (2010) are topping the latest Melbourne Cup ballot order, and the Melbourne Cup odds at as the co $7 favourites, after running first and fourth respectively – both giant runs – in the Caulfield Cup two weeks ago.

Other Internationals Inside the Melbourne Cup Top 24 Order Of Entry Include:

  • Red Cadeaux (4th) – Ed Dunlop’s 2011 Melbourne Cup runner-up back for another shot at Dunaden and the ‘Loving Trophy’
  • Jakkalberry (5th) – Marco Botti-trained, Australian-owned galloper won the American St Leger two back before a disappointing 13th on debut down under in the Caulfield Cup
  • Cavalryman (10th) – British raider from the Saeed Bin Suroor stables, ran second at Newmarket last time out in September and has only recently arrived on Aussie shores
  • Mount Athos (12th) – Luca Cumani-trained five-year-old won a Group 3 at Newbury back in August and is going fresh into the Melbourne Cup field without an earlier run down under
  • My Quest For Peace (19th) – Cumani’s other hopeful debuted down under running a brave fifth in the Caulfield Cup, will improve on that in the other spring cup
  • Galileo’s Choice (22nd) – Dermot K Weld’s chance at a third Melbourne Cup win, won’t race in Australia before the big one but was in flying form in Ireland earlier this year

There are then five internationally-trained horses outside the Top 24 With:

  • Lost In The Moment (26th) – Saeed Bin Suroor’s Danehill Dancer six-year-old is praying for an attrition rate of at least two ahead of them in the ballot
  • Brigantin (27th) – Andre Fabre’s Geelong Cup third placegetter
  • Shahwardi (29th) – Alain de Royer Dupre’s Herbert Power Stakes winning French galloper
  • Gatewood (33rd) – John Gosden’s Geelong Cup champion will race on Derby Day looking to get the ballot exemption
  • Ibicenco (37th) – Luca Cumani’s up-and-comer failed when seventh in the MV Gold Cup in their Aussie debut on Cox Plate Day

The Highest Rated of the Locally-trained Hopes in the 2012 Melbourne Cup Ballot Include:

  • Southern Speed (3rd) – Last year’s Caulfield Cup winning mare pressing on with her Cup bid despite running 15th in the Turnbull and sixth in the Cox Plate
  • Winchester (6th) – John Sadler’s American import ran ninth in the Turnbull and Cox
  • Ethiopia (7th) – Australian Derby winner, the promising four-year-old needs to get the two miles but their Cox Plate fourth was a dour staying effort
  • Voila Ici (8th) – Peter Moody import was well fancied earlier in the season when second in the Underwood and fourth in the Turnbull but didn’t handle the Caulfield Cup pressure and dropped back to finish dead last
  • Lights Of Heaven (9th) – Moody’s best chance of a maiden Melbourne Cup win the Brisbane – Eagle Farm Cup double winner caught the eye in the Caulfield Cup when third to Dunaden

Two of the 46 Melbourne Cup second acceptors meanwhile are yet to pass the first elimination clause with Back In Black and Dare To Dream.

There are two remaining races between now and Melbourne Cup Day offering a ballot exemption to the winner both running this Saturday at Flemington for Victoria Derby Day with the $1 million Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) and the $200,000 Group 3 Lexus Stakes (2500m).

“It remains unclear on which horses may fall by the wayside and which ones won’t,” Racing Victoria chief handicapper Greg Carpenter said.

“Saturday’s races will be the last opportunity for the borderline ones. Probably the ones that are most in the barrel are the international horses.”

Possible 2012 Mackinnon Stakes runners vying for the Melbourne Cup start include:

  • Moudre (25th)
  • Gatewood (33rd)
  • Prairie Star (28th)
  • Kelinni (38th)
  • Peal Of Bells (44th)
  • Back In Black (45th)

Horses outside the Top 24 in the Melbourne Cup order of entry nominated for the 2012 Lexus Stakes then include:

  • Moudre (25th)
  • Tanby (31st)
  • Sabrage (32nd)
  • Gatewood (33rd)
  • Exceptionally (36th)
  • Permit (35th)
  • Ibicenco (37th)
  • Kelinni (38th)
  • Spechenka (39th)
  • Dame Claire (40th)
  • Fictional Account (41st)
  • Reuben Percival (42nd)
  • Excluded (43rd)
  • Peal Of Bells (44th)
  • Dare To Dream (46th)
  • Back In Black (45th)

The 2012 Melbourne Cup final field will be announced on Saturday afternoon after the Victoria Derby Day action so stay tuned to

In the meantime get behind your early picks in the pre-field Melbourne Cup betting markets online at – home of the $400 bonus welcome bet offer.

2012 Melbourne Cup Ballot

Flemington Race 7 – 06/11/2012

# Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 DUNADEN (FR) Mikel Delzangles 1 59kg (inc. 1.0kg penalty) 120
2 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre 2 58kg 118
3 JAKKALBERRY (IRE) Marco Botti 5 55.5kg 113
4 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop 4 55.5kg 112
5 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 6 55.5kg 110
6 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 8 55kg 110
7 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 3 54.5kg 115
8 CAVALRYMAN (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor 10 54kg 108
9 MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) Luca Cumani 12 54kg 108
10 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 11 54kg 105
11 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 7 53.5kg 110
12 FIORENTE (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 21 53.5kg 107
13 GALILEO’S CHOICE (IRE) Dermot K Weld 22 53.5kg 107
14 GLENCADAM GOLD (IRE) Gai Waterhouse 18 53.5kg (inc. 3.5kg penalty) 107
15 GREEN MOON (IRE) Robert Hickmott 14 53.5kg 112
16 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 13 53.5kg 107
17 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 15 53.5kg 108
18 MY QUEST FOR PEACE (IRE) Luca Cumani 19 53.5kg 107
19 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 16 53.5kg 108
20 TAC DE BOISTRON (FR) Michael Kent 20 53.5kg 107
21 BRIGANTIN (USA) Andre Fabre 27 53kg 105
22 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody 9 53kg 112
23 LOST IN THE MOMENT (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor 26 53kg 105
24 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 25 53kg 103
25 PRAIRIE STAR (FR) Danny O’Brien 28 53kg 104
26 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 23 53kg 103
27 SHAHWARDI (FR) Alain de Royer Dupre 29 53kg (inc. 1.5kg penalty) 105
28 UNUSUAL SUSPECT (USA) Michael Kent 24 53kg 102
29 GATEWOOD (GB) John Gosden 33 52.5kg (inc. 1.0kg penalty) 104
30 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 30 52.5kg 101
31 PERMIT (GB) Chris Waller 35 52.5kg 102
32 TANBY Robert Hickmott 31 52.5kg (inc. 0.5kg penalty) 104
33 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 17 52kg 103
34 IBICENCO (GER) Luca Cumani 37 51.5kg 99
35 KELINNI (IRE) Chris Waller 38 51kg (inc. 1.0kg penalty) 102
36 SABRAGE Michael Moroney 32 51kg 94
37 VATUVEI Peter G Moody 34 51kg (inc. 1.0kg penalty) 97
38 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens 39 50.5kg 92
39 BACK IN BLACK (NZ) John Steffert 45 50kg 89
40 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey 40 50kg 95
41 DARE TO DREAM (IRE) Bart Cummings 46 50kg 90
42 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 36 50kg 98
43 EXCLUDED (NZ) Robert Hickmott 43 50kg 98
44 FICTIONAL ACCOUNT (IRE) David Hayes 41 50kg 95
45 PEAL OF BELLS Gwenda Markwell 44 50kg 86
46 REUBEN PERCIVAL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 42 50kg 98