David Jones Cup 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

October 17, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

David Jones Cup 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

The final field has been announced for the Group 3 2012 David Jones Cup (2000m) which will take place as part of the action-packed Caulfield Cup day card this Saturday.

Twelve horses have been named to contest the $150,000 staying race including John O’Shea-trained gelding Lightinthenite.

The five-year-old has won five times from 12 starts and was strong when finishing fourth to Fat Al in the Group 1 Epsom earlier this month.

Prior to that he ran a flashing second to nearly chase down Rolling Pin in the Cameron Handicap and was third in the Scone Cup in May.

There is just one last-start winner in the field with that being Pacino who faces a a large step up in class after winning at Manangatang on the weekend.

Also stepping up in class is consistent gelding Bagman who has climbed through the grades.

The Sam Kavanagh-trained six-year-old finished third first-up at Morphetville at Listed level and has since won the Balaklava Cup, the Tokyo City Cup and finished fifth in the Cranbourne Cup.

One horse in reasonable form is Pat Carey-trained mare Dame Claire who won the Listed Ansett Classic at Morninton last month before finishing third to Tanby in the Bart Cummings.

Thirteen-time placegetter Anudjuwan will continue his attempt to break a winning drought which began following his second career start in Bendigo in 2010.

The Shaun Dwyer-trained gelding has placed at stakes level but has just one career win from 30 starts.

Other David Jones Cup contenders include the Mick Price-trained Proliferate, Danny O’brien’s import Prairie Star and the Patinack-owned Maules Creek.

When betting opens on the David Jones Cup, give yourself access to great odds by betting with bookmaker.com.au.

Open an account quoting the code BONUSBET today to give your spring betting a boost with their $400 bonus bet offer!

David Jones Cup 2012 – Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x216x023x0 PRAIRIE STAR (FR) Danny O’Brien Ben Melham 4 59kg 104
2 x1335x3115 BAGMAN Sam Kavanagh Brad Rawiller 3 58kg 102
3 x587190x65 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes Nicholas Hall 9 57kg 100
4 215x43x880 SHEWAN Robert Smerdon Glen Boss 7 57kg 100
5 3125x13x24 LIGHTINTHENITE John O’Shea Craig Williams 2 54.5kg 95
6 42317×8575 MAULES CREEK John P Thompson Christian Reith 6 54.5kg 95
7 5221124×00 VAL CHAMP (ARG) Anthony Freedman Hugh Bowman 1 54.5kg 95
8 4301150813 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey Peter Mertens 11 54kg 95
9 5345272×09 ANUDJAWUN (NZ) Shaun Dwyer TBA 8 54kg 89
10 11x2750x04 PROLIFERATE Mick Price Michael Walker 12 54kg 88
11 248×007551 PACINO Clinton McDonald Damien Oliver 5 54kg 80
12 541x111x75 WATERFORD HILL Leon Corstens Craig Newitt 10 54kg 74

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field