2012 Thoroughbred Club Stakes Results – Cavalry Rose Scores Upset

October 13, 2012

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2012 Thoroughbred Club Stakes Results – Cavalry Rose Scores Upset

This afternoon’s Thoroughbred Club Stakes 2012 on Caulfield Guineas Day has been won by Gerald Ryan’s progressive Charge Forward filly Cavalry Rose who was too good for her rivals in an all-the-way win.

Having shown good early form as a juvenile Cavalry Rose was turned out after her eighth to Pierro in the Golden Slipper when beaten four lengths by Gai Waterhouse’s glamor colt.

She resumed as a three-year-old in a career worst run to finish second last in the Silver Shadow Stakes but showed improvement second-up when fourth in the Reginald Allen at Rosehill.

There was more improvement again today with Cavalry Rose, ridden nicely by top jockey Nash Rawiller, scoring her maiden black type victory in the $150,000 Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes (1200m).

Ryan tinkered with her gear for this test and it worked.

She was ridden positively right from the get go, which saw her record a quicker winning time than stablemate Snitzerland in the previous race (Blue Sapphire), taking up the lead on the outside of Elite Elle in the early stages.

She held that lead coming into the turn and won bragging rights with her rivals unable to run her down.

Rawiller really won the race on the home turn as he zoomed across and rode her positively.

Cavalry Rose really kicked up on the straight and just swept into the turn, Rawiller giving her plenty of stick and they couldn’t wear her down in a very genuine win.

“We capitalised on her early speed to be honest,” Rawiller said after the win.

“The pace seemed to come out of the race and she was able to roll forward.

“She was too strong.

“She did a good job because the saddle slipped quite badly.

“But she certainly found it when she needed to.”

A late challenge from the Peter Moody-trained Mareeza, who probably produced the best run of the race, was eye-catching but fruitless as Rawiller charged Cavalry Rose home to win by a short neck.

A further length and a quarter away in third was then Robert Smerdon’s last-start Champagne Stakes third placegetter Saturn Rock.

Ryan was over the moon with his early Caulfield Guineas Day double, happy with the run from Cavalry Rose and the ride by Rawiller.

“It’s been great,” he said.

“After she went awful in the Silver Shadow we had to back off her and find out why she went so bad.

“She’s just gone terrific since (bouncing back).

“She worked enormously at Rosehill on Monday (this way of going)…she has not missed a beat.

“I said to Nash to just ride her the way you find her.

“She began brilliant and it’s good to put those top jockeys on them and leave it up to them.

“Really people forget at the end of last prep she ran really well in the Golden Slipper (beaten just four lengths) and she’s a lot stronger filly now.”

The complete 2012 Thoroughbred Club Stakes results and finishing order are detailed in the table below.

Don’t settle for second best for your next bet. Wherever you are and whatever race you’re on you will get the guaranteed best odds online at bookmaker.com.au – home of the unique ‘Pick Your Own Odds’ market and the $400 bonus welcome bet offer!

2012 Thoroughbred Club Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Caulfield Guineas Day Race 3 – 13/10/2012

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 3 CAVALRY ROSE Gerald Ryan Nash Rawiller 11 56kg $8
2 11 MAREEZA Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 0.2L 9 55kg $16
3 8 SATURN ROCK Robert Smerdon Glen Boss 1.45L 7 55kg $3.80EF
4 5 ELITE ELLE Tony Vasil Craig Williams 2.2L 10 56kg $5
5 2 HOSS AMOR John O’Shea James McDonald 2.3L 6 56kg $3.80EF
6 1 SNIPZU Liam Birchley Chris Munce 3.05L 4 56kg $41
7 14 ZORIA (NZ) Chris Hyland Michael Rodd 3.8L 5 55kg $21
8 10 OMNISCIENT Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 4.1L 8 55kg $31
9 7 CLINKING Anthony Cummings Mark Zahra 5.35L 1 55.5kg $31
10 9 CIAO Clarry Conners Peter Robl 5.45L 3 55kg $71
11 13 ROLL THE BONES John P Thompson Hugh Bowman 6.7L 12 55kg $18
12 6 FORMIDABLE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Dwayne Dunn 8.2L 2 55.5kg $18
15 SHEZA SINGLE GIRL Nigel Blackiston Michael Walker 0
4 ARMED FOR ACTION Anthony Freedman Craig Newitt 0
12 MRS GRAY David Hayes Corey Brown 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field