Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2012 Nominations – No Mosheen

September 25, 2012

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2012 Nominations – No Mosheen

Robert Smerdon’s star mare Mosheen has been left out of the 2012 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations for this Sunday at Caulfield Racecourse with the four time Group 1 winner’s spring carnival under a cloud of mystery.


Mosheen has been ruled out of the 2012 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

After only hours ago announcing the daughter of Fastnet Rock as a ‘definite’ runner in the $400,000 Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m), Smerdon has not nominated her for the handicap with a decision whether to immediately retire the $2.6 million earner to serve as a broodmare in Japan or to target the Myer Classic during the Melbourne Cup Carnival being discussed.

Mosheen was also the most notable absentee from the 2012 Cox Plate second declarations taken today, with Smerdon admitting her minor throat surgery earlier in the season had taken more of a toll on her campaign than first expected.

“The thing is, the problem she had put a bigger hole in her preparation than I first thought,” Smerdon said.

“It basically cost her a month and we’ve been trying to catch up ever since.”

Last seen running fifth to Detours in the Group 3 Sportingbet Sprint Series Heat 2 (1200m) at Caulfield on Saturday, connections have decided to pull the pin on her running this weekend and in the Cox Plate.

Despite Mosheen’s nonappearance there is still plenty of depth to the 19 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominations for 2012 including four last-start winners.

Horses vying for successive wins on Sunday should they accept for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes field are Peter Snowden’s Missile Stakes – Warwick Stakes double winner Pinwheel, Rob Heathcote’s in-form Brisbane galloper Solzhenitsyn who has won their last four runs, the Tony Vasil-trained Lonhro seve-year-old Veewap coming off a win over 1400m at the track from last Saturday, and Bobbie Lewis winner We’re Gonna Rock.

Other notable 2012 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes nominees include Chris Waller’s Group 2 winning mare Red Tracer, the consistent Peter Moody-trained four-year-old Moment Of Change, Anthony Cummings’ Australian Guineas runner-up Strike The Stars and Cox Plate-bound Glass Harmonium.

The final field for the weekend’s only Group 1 feature down under will be released on Wednesday and published right here at

Betting on all the spring carnival majors is available online at where new customers are instantly rewarded with a sign-up bonus valued up to $400 when they deposit and use the code BONUSBET!

2012 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Nominations

Caulfield – 30/09/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 AMAH ROCK Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 91
2 BOMBALATOMBA (NZ) Chris Hyland 68
3 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne 101
4 GLASS HARMONIUM (IRE) Michael Moroney 112
5 INSTINCTION Mick Price 89
6 MISTER MILTON Norman Waymouth 89
7 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 99
8 MR MAKE BELIEVE Peter G Moody 97
9 PAGO ROCK David Hayes 95
10 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden 111
11 RED TRACER Chris Waller 107
12 SECOND EFFORT Clinton McDonald 105
13 SHANGHAI WARRIOR Pat Hyland 100
14 SMOKIN’ JOEY Anthony Freedman 102
15 SOLZHENITSYN (NZ) Robert Heathcote 102
16 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings 95
17 THAT’S THE ONE Colin & Cindy Alderson 91
18 VEEWAP Tony Vasil 97
19 WE’RE GONNA ROCK Mark Kavanagh 107

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field