Longport Wins 2012 Tea Rose Stakes In Protest

September 22, 2012

Longport Wins 2012 Tea Rose Stakes In Protest

Patinack filly Longport  has taken out the 2012 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m) in controversial fashion ahead of the Bart Cummings-trained Norzita.

Longport inside Norzita

Longport, inside, has won Tea Rose Stakes 2012 from Norzita after a protest

Outsider Longport took a lead with Jim Cassidy aboard while Norzita was held midfield by Corey Brown.

Heavily-backed favourite Dear Demi received no luck in running and was never in the finish as Norzita charged after the leader in the straight.

The pair were neck-and-neck in the straight but Norzita got the bob of the head at the right time to cross the line in front in a photo finish.

Cassidy was quick to protest after the race, stating that Norzita had angled in from the outside and made contact with his mount.

Stewards agreed and said the ground lost in running from the contact was sufficient enough to suggest that had it not occurred Longport would have passed the post in front.

Longport has now won three of five starts and is likely to continue on to the Group 1 Flight Stakes in two weeks time.

The racing action is just starting to heat up this spring so don’t miss out, head to bookmaker.com.au today!

Open an account quoting the code BONUSBET today to give your spring betting a boost with their outstanding $400 bonus bet offer!

Tea Rose Stakes 2012 – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 5 LONGPORT John P Thompson Jim Cassidy 5 56kg $81
2 6 NORZITA (NZ) Bart Cummings Corey Brown 0.1L 6 56kg $5
3 3 JADE MARAUDER Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 1.6L 7 56kg $6
4 1 DEAR DEMI Clarry Conners James McDonald 2.1L 3 56kg $2.50F
5 9 VAQUERA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 4.2L 1 56kg $31
6 2 FLYING SNITZEL Gerald Ryan Hugh Bowman 4.8L 9 56kg $9.50
7 4 MEIDUNG Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 5.3L 2 56kg $4.40
8 7 CALAMBA Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 8.2L 4 56kg $101
9 8 DOLPHUS Anthony Cummings Blake Shinn 8.7L 8 56kg $101

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field