Melbourne Cup Order Of Entry 2012 Released

September 20, 2012

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Melbourne Cup Order Of Entry 2012 Released

Racing Victoria has released the first 2012 Melbourne Cup order of entry for the world’s richest handicap with early favourites Mount Athos and Green Moon both assured of a start in the 24-horse final field at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

Green Moon

Second favourite Green Moon is assured of a spot in the Melbourne Cup field for 2012

Earlier this week the initial handicaps for the $6.2 million Group 1 Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m) were announced with the past two winners of the ‘race that stops a nation’ installed as the equal 58kg top-weights.

Now the French-trained duo of Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011) also sit atop the Melbourne Cup 2012 order of entry and pay $18 and $13 respectively in the latest Melbourne Cup odds at

The Luca Cumani-trained Mount Athos, who is the current $11 Melbourne Cup betting favourite, is 20th in the ballot safely inside the top 24 having won their past three starts on the trot back home in Britain.

Twelve dollar second pick Green Moon, runner-up in last year’s Caulfield Cup and favourite to win the earlier spring cup clash this year, is also set to make the field with the Lloyd Williams-owned import sitting 25th on the order of entry with withdrawals to come.

Also high up the ballot for leviathan racehorse owner Williams are 2007 Melbourne Cup winner Efficient (12th) who at nine is the oldest Melbourne Cup nominee this year, Midas Touch (17th), Mourayan (23rd) who ran a good fourth in the Makybe Diva Stakes first-up on September 8, and Seville (24th).

Following Americain and Dunaden in the ballot is then the Peter Moody-trained Manighar (3rd) out to become a four time elite level winner in the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) this weekend, who is earlier heading towards the 2012 Cox Plate.

Along with Manighar ace Victorian trainer Moody also has fellow European import Voila Ici (10th) and his Group 1 winning mare Lights Of Heaven (13th) inside the top 24.

Also high up the Melbourne Cup order of entry are reigning Caulfield Cup winner Southern Speed (4th) and Mark Johnston’s 2011 Irish St Leger winner Jukebox Jury (5th) who failed when 20th in the Melbourne Cup last spring.

Jukebox Jury however has been retired and will come out of the order of entry once officially withdrawn.

Other top fancies in the futures Melbourne Cup odds include the Australian-owned English galloper Jakkalberry ($17) and last year’s devastatingly close runner-up Red Cadeaux ($18) both safe sitting seventh and sixth respectively.

Another $18 shot in the Melbourne Cup markets Brigantin from French trainer Andre Fabre however is in danger of missing a start currently sitting 40th in the order of entry with 53kg, the five-year-old last seen running second in the Prix Kergorlay (3000m) which has proved an excellent Melbourne Cup form race over the years.

Also inside the top 24 and assured of a start in the iconic showdown should they accept are the likes of John Sadler’s US import Winchester (8th), Pat Carey’s surprise Australian Derby winner Ethiopia (9th),  and two of Godolphin’s hopefuls with Colour Vision (11th) and Cavalryman (18th).

An updated Melbourne Cup order of entry following the weekend’s racing will be released on Monday with first declarations to be taken on Tuesday October 9, 2012.

Check out the official top 24 horses in the Melbourne Cup order of entry below then head to to get behind your early favourites at the best prices before markets firm!

Don’t forget if you are a first-time depositing customer at to also quote the code BONUSBET to enjoy a $400 bonus welcome bet on the house!

2012 Melbourne Cup Order Of Entry Top 24

# Horse Trainer Weight (kg)
1 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre 58.0
2 DUNADEN (FR) Mikel Delzangles 58.0
3 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter Moody 57.0
4 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 54.5
5 JUKEBOX JURY (IRE) Mark Johnston 56
6 RED CADEAUX (GB) Ed Dunlop 55.5
7 JAKKALBERRY (IRE) Marco Botti 55.5
8 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 55.5
9 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey 53.5
10 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter Moody 55.0
11 COLOUR VISION (FR) Saeed bin Suroor 55.0
12 EFFICIENT (NZ) Robert Hickmott 55.0
13 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter Moody 53.0
14 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman 54.5
15 DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Michael Moroney 54.0
16 POLISH KNIGHT (NZ) Team Hawkes 52.5
17 MIDAS TOUCH (GB) Robert Hickmott 54.0
18 CAVALRYMAN (GB) Saeed bin Surorr 54.0
19 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 54.0
20 MOUNT ATHOS (IRE) Luca Cumani 54.0
21 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Team Hawkes 53.5
22 NIWOT Team Hawkes 53.5
23 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 53.5
24 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 53.5

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field