Spring Stars Headline 2012 Underwood Stakes Nominations

September 17, 2012

Spring Stars Headline 2012 Underwood Stakes Nominations

A field full of big name stayers have been nominated for the Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday September 22, 2012.

23 spring hopefuls have nominated for the race, which is worth a total of $400,000 in prize money,

Included in the 2012 Underwood Stakes is Manighar, who placed fourth in the Australian Horse Of The Year Awardslast night.


Manighar is nominated for the 2012 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse this weekend.

Manighar was beaten by a nose in his first-up race start in the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington Racecourse last start.

The Linamix gelding has won 10 of his 30 race starts and has earned more than $3.3 million in prize money during his impressive career.

Manighar won a total of three Group 1 races during the autumn, including the Group 1 Australian Cup, Group 1 Ranvet Stakes and Group 1 The BMW.

Sincero is also nominated for a start in the 2012 Underwood Stakes this weekend.

The five-year-old gelding won his first-up start in the Group 2 Memsie Stakes by an incredible two lengths and is now ready to make it two in a row in the 2012 Underwood Stakes.

The Umatilla gelding has won 12 of his 23 race starts and has earned more than $1.68 million in prize money.

Sincero failed to win a race start during the autumn, however, appears back on track for his Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival campaign.

December Draw, Maluckyday, Southern Speed and Zabeelionaire are also included in the 2012 Underwood Stakes nominations.

Make sure you open an account with bookmaker bookmaker.com.au this spring in order to make the most of their fantastic betting odds!

Join now to take advantage if their $400 bonus bet offer when you enter the promo code BONUSBET.

So sign up and start experiencing betting the way it should be at bookmaker.com.au today.

2012 Underwood Stakes Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AVIENUS Mark Webb 101
2 DECEMBER DRAW (IRE) Mark Kavanagh 112
3 DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Michael Moroney 108
4 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes 100
5 ILLO (GER) Bart Cummings 103
6 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
7 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody 116
8 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman 109
9 MIDAS TOUCH (GB) Robert Hickmott 109
10 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 104
11 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 108
12 NIWOT Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 108
13 OCEAN PARK (NZ) Gary Hennessy 106
14 SANAGAS (GER) Bart Cummings 108
15 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson 93
16 SEVILLE (GER) Robert Hickmott 106
17 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney 102
18 SILENT SURROUND William Smart 93
19 SINCERO Stephen Farley 114
20 SOUTHERN SPEED Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 115
21 VOILA ICI (IRE) Peter G Moody 110
22 WINCHESTER (USA) John Sadler 111
23 ZABEELIONAIRE (NZ) Leon Corstens 101

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field