Furious Stakes 2012 – Quality Nominations Announced

Spring racing steps up another notch this week with classy racing in both Sydney and Melbourne and one of the most exciting races of the weekend is set to be the Group 2 2012 Furious Stakes (1400m) at Warwick Farm.


Doubtfilly is one of the top nominations for the Furious Stakes

Twelve horses have been entered for the three-year-old fillies’ feature but that number will be reduced to at least 11 with Patinack’s filly Nechita unlikely to line up.

It is likely she will head straight to the Golden Rose but there will be no shortage of good fillies in the Furious Stakes including Golden Slipper fourth placegetter Doubtfilly.

The Mackay-based horse kicked off her spring campaign in Brisbane and ran a tough race to finish second to impressive debutant Grayson Square.

With Nechita absent, the horses who placed behind her in the Silver Shadow Stakes, Meidung and Dear Demi, could get their chance this weekend.

Darley-owned Meidung is now a three-time stakes placegetter while Dear Demi will appreciate the extra distance after hitting the line strongly in the Silver Shadow.

One of the more interesting runners in the field is New Zealand filly Pussy Willow who will be having her first start on Australian soil this weekend.

The Stephen McKee-trained youngster has won two of three starts and is nominated for the Thousand Guineas at Caulfield on October 17.

Gary Portelli-trained Single Style won the Keith Mackay Quality as a two-year-old but will be out to redeem her first-up effort in the Silver Shadow Stakes where she finished four lengths off Nechita in seventh position.

Other horses nominated include Gerald Ryan’s Villa Splendido, last-start winner Roll The Bones and the Chris Waller-trained Jade Marauder.

For the best in horse racing betting, sign up to bookmaker.com.au who offer a $400 bonus bet for customers who sign up quoting the code BONUSBET today!

Furious Stakes 2012 – Nominations

Horse Trainer
1 CALAMBA Anthony Cummings
2 CIAO Clarry Conners
3 DEAR DEMI Clarry Conners
4 DOUBTFILLY Stuart Kendrick
6 JADE MARAUDER Chris Waller
7 MEIDUNG Peter Snowden
8 NECHITA John P Thompson
9 PUSSY WILLOW (NZ) Stephen Mckee
10 ROLL THE BONES John P Thompson
11 SINGLE STYLE (NZ) Gary Portelli