2012 Slickpick Stakes Nominations Released

August 27, 2012

2012 Slickpick Stakes Nominations Released

One of the four black type features running at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse this Saturday is the Slickpick Stakes 2012, formerly registered as the Heatherlie Handicap, which has attracted a bumper 32 nominations.


Spring hopeful Tanby races in the 2012 Slickpick Stakes at Caulfield this Saturday

The $120,000 Listed Slickpick Stakes (1700m) has this year drawn six last-start winners including the Anthony Freedman-trained Fruehling.

Five-year-old Azamour stallion Fruehling was last seen scoring a big four and a half length victory over Spechenka in the wet over 2400m at the Sunshine Coast in June, the British import looking to maintain their flawless first-up record down under when they race at Caulfield for the first time this weekend.

Other horses that if accepted will be after consecutive wins on Saturday include Darren Weir’s Street Cry six-year-old Streets Away who has won their last two on the trot including the last over the Caulfield mile in the mud on August 18, local Commands gelding Commanding Time, Tassmanian raider Banca Mo who scored an impressive three length victory over 2040m at Moonee Valley at the start of the month, and the undefeated Mick Price-trained Callanish.

Among the other more notable hopefuls are then the likes of the Mark Webb’s Group 2 winning mare Avienus, perennial runner-up Forty Thirty who has run second at their past three starts, the Michael Moroney-trained multiple Group 1 placegetter Sabrage and the Lloyd Williams-owned Tanby who ran second to subsequent Melbourne Cup winner Duanden in the Geelong Cup last spring before their Bendigo Cup win.

The full 2012 Slickpick Stakes nominations can be found in the table below with final acceptances and barriers due out on Wednesday.

Don’t settle for second best when it comes to having a punt this spring. Get a better price on all your selections by betting online with the Australian-owned and operated bookmaker.com.au, home of the innovative “QuickBet” function allowing you to place your bets in just three clicks!

2012 Slickpick Stakes Nominations

Caulfield – 01/09/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 APRES Clinton McDonald 68
2 AVIENUS Mark Webb 101
3 BANCA MO David & Scott Brunton 92
4 CALLANISH (NZ) Mick Price 80
5 COMMANDING TIME Brendan McCarthy 78
6 CUBAN SUNDAY Pat Carey 80
7 DOMESKY Michael Kent 97
8 EBONY ROCK Stephen Theodore 82
9 FOLDING GEAR (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope 97
10 FORTY THIRTY Clinton McDonald 87
11 FRUEHLING (IRE) Anthony Freedman 82
12 GALILEO GOLD (NZ) Doug Harrison 87
13 GREAT PLAYER Grant Craven 88
14 GUNS AT FIVE (NZ) Peter G Moody 89
15 LADRAMAHS Shane Nichols 72
17 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 108
18 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 90
19 NEVER FORGET (FR) Peter G Moody 97
20 PACINO Clinton McDonald 78
21 PRUSSIAN STORM Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 77
22 RED EYE SPECIAL (NZ) Michael Moroney 80
23 REMEMBA HOWE (NZ) Mick Price 89
24 SABRAGE Michael Moroney 94
25 SCELTO (NZ) Robbie Laing 64
26 SEAN BAILE MOR Todd Balfour 78
27 STOLE (NZ) Brian Jenkins 91
28 STREETS AWAY (NZ) Darren Weir 96
29 SYSMO (FR) Tony McEvoy 72
30 TANBY Robert Hickmott 102
31 UMATIC Shawn Mathrick 70
32 UNUSUAL SUSPECT (USA) Michael Kent 105

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field