Missile Stakes 2012 Nominations Up by Two

Racing NSW has taken two late entries for the opening Group race of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, the 2012 Missile Stakes at Warwick Farm Racecourse this Saturday.


Adnocon is one of two late 2012 Missile Stakes nominations

Nominations for the $125,000 Group 3 Missile Stakes (1200m) were extended until 11am (local time) today after just 11 hopefuls were originally entered for the weight-for-age clash.

The bid to draw more nominees worked with both Adnocon and Stellar Academy adding their names to the possible Missile Stakes field.

Gerald Ryan’s seven-year-old Clang gelding Adnocon was last seen running fifth to Hour Of Peril in the Listed Tattersall’s Mile (1600m) at Eagle Farm on July 21 before which they recorded their ninth career win in the Listed Ascot Handicap (1200m) at the same track.

That Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival triumph ended a lengthy winning drought for Adnocon who hadn’t won a race since the Eye Liner Stakes at Ipswich over a year before.

Stellar Academy meanwhile is a lesser-known Royal Academy six-year-old from Dale Wagstaff’s Hawkesbury stables.

A winner of just three of their 33 career starts to date Stellar Academy began their career with David Hayes in Victoria before being transferred to Amanda Turner & Mauro Poletti in Sydney.

They have been with Wagstaff since June but have never raced against stakes company making their acceptance into the Missile Stakes unlikely.

It is a below strength edition of the Missile Stakes this year however with no obvious headliner.

Golden Rose Stakes-bound She’s A Fox has been confirmed as a non-acceptor with the classy filly to tackle her own age in the $100,000 Listed The Rosebud (1200m) on the same race card instead.

The more notable Missile Stakes nominees then include the Peter Snowden-trained Pinwheel, Group 1 minor placegetter Lamasery and Honours List six-year-old Title last seen running a brave fourth to Temple Of Boom in the Group 1 The Galaxy at Randwick in April.

Title is one of two entries for Joe Pride along with Earnest Ernest who will need a wet track to be accepted, Pride out for back-to-back Missile Stakes victories following the success of the talented Rain Affair last year.

The updated Missile Stakes nominations 2012 are listed in the table below.

Stay tuned to Races.com.au to view the official acceptances including the 2012 Missile Stakes final field once released on Wednesday.

Have you taken advantage of bookmaker.com.au’s $300 bonus welcome bet offer yet? All you need to do is take two minutes to open a new account with them, make your first deposit and then quote the code BONUSBET to have it matched dollar for dollar as a bonus bet up to a juicy $300!

2012 Missile Stakes Nominations Update

Warwick Farm – 11/08/2012

# Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ADNOCON Gerald Ryan 97
2 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne 104
3 EARNEST ERNEST (NZ) Joseph Pride 79
4 LAMASERY David Vandyke
5 NINTH LEGION Anthony Cummings 75
6 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden
7 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne 94
8 ROLLING PIN (NZ) Gwenda Markwell 89
9 SHE’S A FOX Anthony Cummings
10 STELLAR ACADEMY Dale Wagstaff 52
11 TAGUS John P Thompson 95
12 TITLE Joseph Pride 105
13 WELKOM GOLD Darren Smith 95